Death at Wentwater Court (Daisy Dalrymple Series #1)

Death at Wentwater Court (Daisy Dalrymple Series #1)

by Carola Dunn

Paperback

$16.30 $16.99 Save 4% Current price is $16.3, Original price is $16.99. You Save 4%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 27

Overview

More than twenty years ago, Carola Dunn introduced to the world the charming, vivacious and perspicacious Daisy Dalrymple and the tumultuous decade of the 1920s, in an England barely starting to recover from World War I and now undergoing rapid social changes.

In early 1923, the young Honourable Daisy Dalrymple has made a decision that shocks her social class-instead of living in the Dower House with her mother and being supported by her relatives, she's decided to make her own living as a writer. Landing an assignment for Town & Country to write a series of articles on country manor houses, Daisy travels to Wentwater Court to research her first piece. There she finds a household in turmoil, filled with holiday guests and recriminations. But that's nothing compared to the uproar when one of those guests drowns in a tragic early-morning skating "accident." When it is learned that this was anything but accidental, Scotland Yard is called in and a young Chief Inspector, one Alec Fletcher, is called in to investigate. And therein hangs a tale...

A series with all the charm of the classic golden age mysteries with the kind of full-blooded, three dimensional characters that define the best of modern mystery, the Daisy Dalrymple mysteries have been a favorite for more than two decades. Now, with this reissue, readers can enjoy it from the very beginning.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250060792
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: 03/17/2015
Series: Daisy Dalrymple Series , #1
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 146,475
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.10(h) x 2.40(d)

About the Author

CAROLA DUNN is the author of many previous mysteries featuring Daisy Dalrymple, including Heirs of the Body, as well as numerous historical novels. Born and raised in England, she lives in Eugene, Oregon.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Death at Wentwater Court (Daisy Dalrymple Series #1) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the whole series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+had+a+great+time+reading+this+book+and+am+looking+forward+to+the+second+book+in+the+series.
thornton37814 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Daisy Dalrymple goes to Wentwater Court to write an article for a magazine on the country estate. Daisy wants to earn her own way, even though she is of a class where most women would not work. It's not long until the body of a man that no one really likes is found in the ice. It appears to be an accident until Daisy notices an irregularity in one of the photographs she took at the scene. Although it should have been assigned to the local constable, the family is able to use its influence to get an inspector from Scotland Yard involved. He notices a tie-in to a case he's already working. He involves Daisy in the investigation. I found that particular element of the book to be the most far-fetched thing. A Scotland Yard DCI is not going to involve a civilian in a matter, even if she is the one who raised the possibility of its being a homicide. While she might be low on his list of suspects, she had the same opportunity as others to have done the deed, even if she had not known the victim prior to her arrival. Still, the case was entertaining, and I like Daisy and the Chief Inspector. I hope Alec is in future installments of this series.
Caro on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Entertaining period mystery, the first in a serious. Enough to encourage me to pick up the second volume.
writergirl13 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fun, sweet, and yet sassy, story. Might appeal to fans of Agatha Christie's Tommy and Tuppence Beresford series and fans of sweet historical romance.
cbl_tn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Even though Daisy Dalrymple is the daughter of a viscount, she's trying to earn her living by writing stories about the rich and famous for a magazine. Her first assignment at Wentwater Court is going smoothly until one of her fellow guests is found dead, having fallen through the ice while skating on the frozen pond. Was it a tragic accident, or was the hateful man murdered?This delightful cozy mystery has an undercurrent of sadness. The series begins in early 1923, just a few years after the First World War. Many of the characters, Daisy included, lost loved ones during the war, and the social conventions are undergoing a transformation. Daisy seems to be ready to move on with her life, and she's thinking more about the future than the past. Daisy had a good reason to become involved with the investigation of the circumstances surrounding the death, unlike many other cozy heroines. She was helpful to Chief Inspector Alec Fletcher of Scotland Yard, and the pair worked well together. I could see their relationship becoming similar to that of Anne Perry's Thomas and Charlotte Pitt. I'm looking forward to reading more of their adventures.
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
Daisy is launching her career as a photographer and writer for a magazine by covering Wentwater Court. But when someone dies, she finds herself thrust into the mystery. A bit slow, but an interesting read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Daisy is merely a nickname for Margaret and, while a viscount of that era might have called his daughter Daisy within the affectionate circle of the family, her birth certificate would read "Margaret." It puts me off. Where's the research?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
56BookLover More than 1 year ago
This book is well written and a very fun read. I love the mystery without the dark and depressing that are a lot of mysteries. I'm looking forward to reading several more.
dibbylodd More than 1 year ago
Another fine presentation of that unique time that was the 1920's in Britain. Here is a resourceful young woman who does not want to live at home with her annoying mother until a "knight on a white horse rides in to save her from it all"--or something equally societally acceptable! She manages to get a writing job that makes use of her social connections to go to manor homes and write about them, using photographs to enrich the stories. The story is engaging and fun. The characters believable, even the unfortunate would-be boyfriend. I enjoyed the story and look forward to more of her adventures.
PappyPE More than 1 year ago
Not my cup of tea. Slow and a silly story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
enjoyed the book; shipping took a while
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read many mysteries and many period pieces of 1920's and 1930's England. I was able to follow most of the conversations. However, the story flow seemed rushed with so many characters introduced at the same time with little or no character development. Some conversations seemed incomplete or dislocated. I couldn't even get half way through before giving up in disgust. 
NinaJon More than 1 year ago
A nice country house murder mystery. Credible plot and denouement with engaging characters, particularly Daisy Dalrymple. Lots of suspects and motives. The narrative is quite convincingly set in the country house murder era and the love interest between Daisy and the investigating police officer, should make you want to buy the next one to see how it turns out for them. Great fun. A must for anyone who likes a traditional British aristocracy cosy mystery. Nina Jon is the author of the Jane Hetherington Adventures in Detection crime and mystery series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago