Definitive Collection

Definitive Collection

by Sally Oldfield

CD(German Import)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, August 20 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Definitive Collection

This double-disc "definitive" collection" of Sally Oldfield issued by Sony in Germany is not misleading in that in addition to her early recordings, which appear on the second disc, tracks from Water Bearer and Easy (both with brother Mike) are included here as well. The collection puts it all together, with cuts ranging from 1978-1992 when she went off on her own. Oldfield had chart success in Europe, the Germans found her music truly essential, and she was the real precursor to singers like Enya from Clannad and virtually every other "mystical" Celtic new age chanteuse. The difference is that Oldfield is a composer who could take any form of music she chose, from club pop to reggae to folk music, and turn it into something grand and ethereal -- even at her most sensual in songs such as "Break Through the Rock," (an extended dance remix is included here); and "In the Heat of the Night," from her 1997 set Silver Dagger -- arguably her most enduring recording. This is a fantastic introduction.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/25/1998
Label: Imports
UPC: 5099748742124
catalogNumber: 17336
Rank: 123213


  1. Celebration
  2. Mandala
  3. Silver Dagger
  4. Mirrors
  5. Easy
  6. Let It Begin
  7. Break Through the Rock
  8. Woman of the Night
  9. I Say Something
  10. No Heart
  11. Morning of My Love
  12. Giving All My Love
  13. Guiding Star
  14. Andromeda Rising
  15. You Break Like a Wave
  16. Song of the Lamp
  17. You Set My Gipsy Blood Free
  18. Natasha

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews