Democracy Betrayed: How Superdelegates, Redistricting, Party Insiders, and the Electoral College Rigged the 2016 Election

Democracy Betrayed: How Superdelegates, Redistricting, Party Insiders, and the Electoral College Rigged the 2016 Election


View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days


An impassioned takedown of the undemocratic features of American electoral politics and their role in the 2016 election. Americans are taught to cherish our democracy, especially our right to vote. But after the 2016 presidential election, we are confronted, yet again, with the reality that our system is neither free nor fair. Almost every step along the way is filled with intentional and unintentional pitfalls, barriers, and dysfunction. The results disadvantage, discourage, and ultimately disenfranchise, but a myth persists that our elections and democracy are exemplary. Our system is adept at pre-empting the very citizens whose participation would upend governing classes and economic elites. That’s done by making voting more complicated, less accountable and resistant to reform. Whether we’re talking about voter ID laws, superdelegates, convoluted state recount rules, or the archaic Electoral College, procedures have greater weight than democratic principles, or evidence-based determinations. Democracy Betrayed catalogs the long litany of ways our elections failed, and continue to fail, their billing as model democracy. It will look through the lens of impassioned skepticism, highlighting what went wrong and conveying why that need not be the case. More people registered to vote in 2016 than ever before, even if turnout was about the same as 2012. That shows people want a system they can believe in. This book will speak to them and show them how they can fight for a better democracy.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781510729452
Publisher: Hot Books
Publication date: 03/06/2018
Pages: 260
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Steven Rosenfeld is a national political reporter at Alternet and the author and editor of several books on campaigns and elections, including What Happened in Ohio: A Documentary Record of Theft and Fraud in the 2004 Election and Count My Vote: A Citizen’s Guide to Voting. In 2010, he worked with Pew’s Election Initiatives division to draft a registration modernization plan and report, which lead to the creation of, which is now helping 21 states update their voter registration files and identify eligible but unregistered voters. He is a former reporter for NPR and a former executive producer at Air America Radio. He lives in San Francisco, CA.

David Talbot is the New York Times bestselling author of Brothers: The Hidden History of the Kennedy Years and The Devil’s Chessboard. He is the founder and former editor-in-chief of Salon and has written for the New Yorker, Rolling Stone, and Time. He lives in San Francisco.

Table of Contents

Foreword David Talbot ix

Introduction xiii

Section I The Democrats

1 Bernie Sanders 3

2 Who Won Iowa? 9

3 Las Vegas Rules 15

4 New Questions, New Barriers 19

5 The Not-So-Golden State 25

6 The Democratic National Committee 29

Section II The Republicans

7 Gaming the Rules of Politics 35

8 Creating Partisan Ghettos 41

9 Looking Forward, Not Backward 51

10 The Voting Wars 61

11 The Starting Line 71

12 The Finish Line 83

13 The Playbook: Do Everything 95

Section III The Recounts

14 What Happened? 105

15 The Final Swing States 113

16 The Electoral College 125

Afterword 131

Acknowledgments 143

Endnotes 147

Index 203

Customer Reviews