DFA Compilation #2 [DFA]

DFA Compilation #2 [DFA]

by The DFAThe DFA


$10.14 $10.99 Save 8% Current price is $10.14, Original price is $10.99. You Save 8%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


One of the most consistently creative indie labels gathers up more than enough tracks to necessitate a second compilation. DFA Compilation #2 is three times the size of #1, using the first two discs to compile tracks new and old, while providing a DJ mix on the third. Since the initial batch of 12" releases, the label has expanded its sound and roster at a steady pace. Two of the most notable tracks come from the Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom single released in early 2004; "El Monte" is trippy ambient that falls somewhere between Cluster and Manuel Göttsching, while the DFA mix of "Rise" lays electronic percolations and light whipcracks over a four-four disco beat. The terrifically obnoxious "Crass Mix" of LCD Soundsystem's "Yeah" begins as moderately absorbing disco-punk until working itself into a chaotic, screeching acid lather. Some older B-sides are dusted off as well, for both better and worse; sounding like an electro/dub version of a long-lost post-punk A-side, LCD's "Beat Connection" warrants more spins than the borderline novelty hit "Losing My Edge" (as heard on DFA Compilation #1), while the Rapture's Captain Sensible-quoting "Alabama Sunshine" scrawls and stammers for three shrill minutes. A handful of exclusives and future singles round out discs one and two. Beyond a trio of Juan Maclean tracks -- none of which happen to be as dancefloor-friendly as his three A-sides to date -- the most-anticipated track is a vibrant re-imagined version of "Bellhead" from innovative (and recently resuscitated) percussion troupe Liquid Liquid. On disc three, the label's Tim Goldsworthy and Tim Sweeney shrewdly mix several of the tracks heard on the first two, and include a few that aren't present -- such as the sparkling silicone disco-funk of the Juan Maclean's "Give Me Every Little Thing" and the DFA edit of the Rapture's "Echoes." This is the greatest attraction of the whole package. While the package's bulkiness is liable to yield complaints of hubristic overindulgence, it's priced far less than a typical three-disc set.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/02/2004
Label: Dfa Records
UPC: 0829732214024
catalogNumber: 2140
Rank: 97327

Album Credits

Performance Credits

DFA   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Kudo   Track Performer
Tim Goldsworthy   Synthesizer Bass
Kan Takagi   Track Performer
Yoshimi P We   Track Performer
Nancy Whang   Vocals,Track Performer
Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom   Track Performer
James Murphy   Track Performer
Eric Broucek   Vocals
Mandy Coon   Vocals
Christian Holstad   Track Performer
Gavin Russom   Track Performer
Black Leotard Front   Track Performer
Danny Schmidt   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Liquid Liquid   Composer
Eye   Remixing
Steve Revitte   Producer
Rapture   Producer
Black Dice   Composer
Tim Goldsworthy   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Executive Producer
Pixeltan   Composer
Juan MacLean   Composer
DFA   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Remixing,Instrumentation
Kan Takagi   Composer
Andy Sarroff   Engineer
Nancy Whang   Composer
Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom   Arranger,Composer
James Murphy   Composer,Executive Producer
Jonathan Galkin   Executive Producer
Eric Broucek   Producer
Christian Holstad   Arranger,Composer
Gavin Russom   Arranger,Composer
Mike Vadino   Cover Design
Delia Gonzalez   Composer

Customer Reviews