Diving Deep for Sea Shells

Diving Deep for Sea Shells

by Stella Castellucci, Edgar Amaya

Paperback

$14.20
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, June 25

Overview

Stella Castellucci tells the story of her remarkable life in music. Born in Los Angeles in 1930 to musician father Louis Castellucci, Stella would go on to continue and further his legacy. Stella joined Peggy Lee's touring jazz group in 1953. They would form a close friendship that would endure past Peggy's life. Stella witnessed and took part in a very creative time for Peggy Lee in the 1950's. They would closely collaborate on the 1958 Decca release Sea Shells.

Stella would also appear on the Peggy Lee albums: Songs in an Intimate Style (Decca, 1954), Black Coffee (Decca, 1956), Dream Street (Decca, 1957), The Man I Love (Capitol, 1957), Jump for Joy (Capitol, 1958), Pretty Eyes (Capitol, 1960) and Christmas Carousel (Capitol, 1960).

Learn the story behind the making of these and other classic recordings, including the Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong album Porgy & Bess. Stella remains a devoted friend to her "Big Sister" Peggy, even appearing for Lee's 92nd birthday celebrations in North Dakota. This book was created through extensive email exchanges, phone conversations and visits between Stella and Edgar. We hope that the love and joy in writing it carries over to our readers. Fans of Jazz, Peggy Lee, harp music and the album Sea Shells are sure to enjoy the look back.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781943483037
Publisher: LitFire Publishing, LLC
Publication date: 07/16/2015
Pages: 206
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.47(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Diving Deep for Sea Shells 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
RobMcEntarffer More than 1 year ago
I just finished Diving Deep for Sea Shells and I wanted to thank the authors for writing this book. I loved reading about Stella Castellucci’s remarkable life. I'm amazed at the artists she was able to work with. The book is filled with rich stories about not only her extensive collaborations with Peggy Lee, but MANY other amazing artists (Louis Armstrong! Ella Fitzgerald! Wowza!) It's a tribute to Stella’s hard work and artistry that she was in such demand for so long! My other favorite element of the book is the author’s kindness: she takes time to make sure readers know how kind, important, and considerate the people were in her life. Her kindness shines through in the book. If you are interested in the history of Jazz, music from this era, the harp, or just love to read stories from a remarkable life, I recommend this book. Thanks to the authors for their hard work.