City of God

City of God

Jonathan Haagensen
Director: Fernando Meirelles Cast: Jonathan Haagensen
Jonathan Haagensen
, Matheus Nachtergaele
Matheus Nachtergaele
, Seu Jorge
Seu Jorge
Fernando Meirelles

DVD (Wide Screen / Subtitled)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, September 28


Fernando Meirelles' City of God is a sweeping tale of how crime affects the poor population of Rio de Janeiro. Though the narrative skips around in time, the main focus is on Cabeleira who formed a gang called the Tender Trio. He and his best friend, Bené (Phelipe Haagensen), become crime lords over the course of a decade. When Bené is killed before he can retire, Lil' Zé attempts to take out his arch enemy, Sandro Cenoura (Matheus Nachtergaele). But Sandro and a young gangster named Mane form an alliance and begin a gang war with Lil' Zé. Amateur photographer Buscape (Alexandre Rodrigues) takes pictures of the brutal crime war, making their story famous. City of God was screened at the 2002 Cannes Film Festival.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/27/2021
UPC: 0191329204078
Original Release: 2002
Rating: R
Source: Miramax
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 2:09:00
Sales rank: 731

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Jonathan Haagensen Cabeleira
Matheus Nachtergaele Sandro Cenoura (Carrot)
Seu Jorge Mane Galinha
Alexandre Rodrigues Buscape
Phelipe Haagensen Bene
Leandro Firmino da Hora Ze Pequeno
Roberta Rodriguez Silvia Berenice
Douglas Siva Dadinho

Technical Credits
Fernando Meirelles Director
Kátia Lund Director
Tule Peake Art Director
Lamartine Ferreira Asst. Director
César Charlone Cinematographer
Marc Beauchamps Co-producer
Daniel Filho Co-producer
Hank Levine Co-producer
Vincent Maraval Co-producer
Donald Ranvaud Co-producer
Walter Salles Co-producer
Bia Salgado Costumes/Costume Designer
Ines Salgado Costumes/Costume Designer
Daniel Rezende Editor
Juliette Renaud Executive Producer
Elisa Tolomelli Executive Producer
Mauricio Andrade Ramos Producer
Andrea Barata Ribeiro Producer
Ed Cortes Score Composer
Antonio Pinto Score Composer
Braulio Mantovani Screenwriter
Guiherme Ayrosa Sound/Sound Designer
Martin Hernandez Sound/Sound Designer
Paulo Ricardo Nunes Sound/Sound Designer

Customer Reviews