Pub. Date:


Robert Stephens
Director: Tony Palmer Cast: Robert Stephens
Robert Stephens
, Virginia McKenna
Virginia McKenna
, Judith Howarth
Judith Howarth
Tony Palmer

DVD (Wide Screen / Subtitled)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 21


The acclaimed Tony Palmer helmed this 1984 biopic on 19th and early 20th century Italian composer Giacomo Puccini, here portrayed by Robert Stephens. Palmer opts to focus not on the whole gestalt of Puccini's life, but on a devastating scandal that transpired in 1909, when Giacomo's wife, Elvira Puccini, accused maid Doria Manfredi of bedding her husband. The unfounded allegations prompted a massive lawsuit from the maid's family, and nearly toppled Giacomo's illustrious career. Judith Howarth co-stars.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/24/2008
UPC: 0604388703401
Original Release: 1984
Rating: NR
Source: Tony Palmer Films
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:55:00
Sales rank: 63,838

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Robert Stephens Actor
Virginia McKenna Actor
Judith Howarth Doria Manfredi
Elvira Puccini Actor
Robert Urquhart Doria's Father
Bill Fraser Fucini, the Lawyer
William Squire Giacchi, the Doctor
Peter Woodthorpe Umberto Manfredi
Andrew Cruickshank Father Michelucci
Phil McCall Gnicche
Rupert Graves Tomio, Puccini's Son
Ronald Pickup Giulio Ricordi
Linda Esther Gray Turandot
Phyllis Cannan Turandot
Willard White Timur
Eduardo Alvares Calaf
Marie Slorach Liu
Alan Okie Ping
Hugh Hetherington Pang
Gordon Christie Pong
Alexander Gibson Conductor

Technical Credits
Tony Palmer Director
Simon Channing-Williams Producer
Charles Wood Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Puccini
1. Duck Shoot [10:34]
2. Turandot I - The Chorus [1:55]
3. Elvira [6:33]
4. Turandot II - Sets & Costumes [1:11]
5. Rumours of Sex [6:57]
6. Turandot III - Timur [1:56]
7. With Ricordi [6:23]
8. Turandot IV - Alexander Gibson & the Orchestra [5:15]
9. Doria [8:54]
10. Turandot V - Liu [6:44]
11. Turandot VI - Children's Choir/Mother Church & the Shame of it [7:51]
12. Death in the Family [10:25]
13. Dying of the Light [3:04]
14. First Night - Eva Turmer & Simonetta Puccini [4:03]
15. Putting Up the Shutters - Ping, Pang & Pong [3:20]
16. In Questa Reggia [6:15]
17. Death of Liu [9:48]
18. Reviews & Coda [3:56]
19. End Credits [5:18]

Customer Reviews