Rising From Ashes

Rising From Ashes

Director: T.C. Johnstone Cast: Forest Whitaker, Adrien Niyonshuti, Rafiki Uwimana

DVD (Wide Screen)

$26.70 $27.99 Save 5% Current price is $26.7, Original price is $27.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23


Oscar-winner Forest Whitaker narrates this documentary following world-renowned cyclist Jock Boyer as he trains the first Rwandan National Cycling Team to compete in the 2012 Summer Olympics. An essential part of life in Rwanda, the bicycle played a crucial role in helping thousands of Rwandans escape certain death during the 1994 genocide. Many of the cyclists Boyer trains for the Olympics were too young to remember that horrible atrocity in detail, though its specter still haunts them in the form of brothers they will never see again, and stories passed down from their elders. Over the course of six years, Boyer transforms these young men into athletes with the talent to compete on the global stage. Meanwhile, filmmaker T.C. Johnstone captures their inspirational stories for all the world to see.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/12/2013
UPC: 0720229915724
Original Release: 2012
Rating: NR
Source: First Run Features
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:20:00
Sales rank: 49,003

Special Features

Closed Caption; Behind the scenes:; The making of Rising From Ashes

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Forest Whitaker Narrator
Adrien Niyonshuti Participant
Rafiki Uwimana Participant
Nathan Byukusenge Participant
Abraham Ruhumuriza Participant
Jock Boyer Participant
Tom Ritchey Participant

Technical Credits
T.C. Johnstone Director,Editor,Producer
Elisa Bonora Editor
Dan Cooper Executive Producer
David Eggerichs Cinematographer
Jon Halbert Executive Producer
Peb Jackson Executive Producer
Jeremy Rodgers Cinematographer
Greg Kwedar Producer
Joshua Myers Score Composer
Ryan Scheer Cinematographer
Jeffrey Waldron Cinematographer
Forest Whitaker Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Rising from Ashes
1. Chapter 1 [5:00]
2. Chapter 2 [4:59]
3. Chapter 3 [5:00]
4. Chapter 4 [4:59]
5. Chapter 5 [5:00]
6. Chapter 6 [4:59]
7. Chapter 7 [4:59]
8. Chapter 8 [5:00]
9. Chapter 9 [4:59]
10. Chapter 10 [4:59]
11. Chapter 11 [5:00]
12. Chapter 12 [4:59]
13. Chapter 13 [3:33]
14. Chapter 14 [1:27]
15. Chapter 15 [4:59]
16. Chapter 16 [5:04]
17. Chapter 17 [4:24]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews