Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
Echoes of Sherlock Holmes: Stories Inspired by the Holmes Canon

Echoes of Sherlock Holmes: Stories Inspired by the Holmes Canon

Hardcover

(Not eligible for purchase using B&N Audiobooks Subscription credits)
$24.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Overview

In a stunning follow-up to the acclaimed In the Company of Sherlock Holmes, Laurie R. King and Leslie S. Klinger present a brand-new anthology of stories inspired by the Arthur Conan Doyle canon.


In this follow-up to the acclaimed In the Company of Sherlock Holmes, expert Sherlockians Laurie King and Les Klinger put forth the question: What happens when great writers/creators who are not known as Sherlock Holmes devotees admit to being inspired by Conan Doyle stories? While some are highly-regarded mystery writers, others are best known for their work in the fields of fantasy or science fiction. All of these talented authors, however, share a great admiration for Arthur Conan Doyle and his greatest creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.


To the editors’ great delight, these stories go in many directions. Some explore the spirit of Holmes himself; others tell of detectives themselves inspired by Holmes’s adventures or methods. A young boy becomes a detective; a young woman sharpens her investigative skills; an aging actress and a housemaid each find that they have unexpected talents. Other characters from the Holmes stories are explored, and even non-Holmesian tales by Conan Doyle are echoed. The variations are endless!


Although not a formal collection of new Sherlock Holmes stories—however some do fit that mold—instead these writers were asked to be inspired by the Conan Doyle canon. The results are breathtaking, for fans of Holmes and Watson as well as readers new to Doyle’s writing—indeed, for all readers who love exceptional storytelling.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781681772257
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Publication date: 10/04/2016
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 927,520
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.20(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Laurie R. King is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous books, including the Mary Russell-Sherlock Holmes stories. She has won or been nominated for a multitude of prizes, has been chosen as the guest of honor at several crime conventions, and is probably the only writer to have both an Edgar Award and an honorary doctorate in theology. She was inducted into the Baker Street Irregulars in 2010.

Leslie S. Klinger is the editor of the highly-acclaimed The New Annotated Dracula; The New Annotated Frankenstein; and the two-volume The New Annotated H. P. Lovecraft, as well as the anthologies In the Shadow of Dracula and In the Shadow of Edgar Allan Poe. Together with Lisa Morton, he’s also edited the anthologies Ghost Stories and Weird Women, both with extensive selections of Victorian horror. He lives in Malibu.

Table of Contents

Introduction Laurie R. King Leslie S. Klinger ii

Holmes on the Range John Connolly 1

Irregular Meg Gardiner 29

Where There Is Honey Dana Cameron 45

Before A Bohemian Scandal Tasha Alexander 79

The Spiritualist David Morrell 91

Mrs. Hudson Investigates Tony Lee Bevis Mussan 109

The Adventure of the Dancing Women Hank Phillippi Ryan 119

Raffa Anne Perry 149

The Crown Jewel Affair Michael Scott 171

Understudy in Scarlet Hallie Ephron 203

Martin X Gary Phillips 221

The Painted Smile William Kent Krueger 241

The First Mrs. Coulter Catriona McPherson 259

The Case of the Speckled Trout Deborah Crombie 271

The Adventure of the Empty Grave Jonathan Maberry 283

Limited Resources Denise Mina 309

The Adventure of the Extraordinary Rendition Cory Doctorow 319

About the Contributors 339

Acknowledgments 347

Customer Reviews