English Fiction Since 1984: Narrating a Nation

English Fiction Since 1984: Narrating a Nation

by B. Finney


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, March 27

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780230008557
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan UK
Publication date: 10/10/2006
Edition description: 2006
Pages: 233
Product dimensions: 5.51(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.03(d)

About the Author

BRIAN FINNEY is an Associate Professor in English at California State University, Long Beach, USA. He taught at London University from 1964-1987, and, since emigrating to the USA, at UCR, UCLA, and USC. He has published Since How It Is: A Study of Samuel Beckett's Later Fiction (1972), Christopher Isherwood: A Critical Biography for which he awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Prize in 1979, The Inner I: British Literary Autobiography of the Twentieth Century (1985) and D. H. Lawrence: Sons and Lovers: A Critical Study (1990).

Table of Contents

Acknowledgements Introduction PART I: HISTORY, MODERNITY AND METAFICTION Preface Peter Ackroyd: Chatterton (1987) Julian Barnes: A History of the World in 10 1/2 Chapters (1989) Martin Amis: Time's Arrow (1991) A.S. Byatt: Angels and Insects (1992) Ian McEwan: Atonement (2001) PART II: NATIONAL CULTURES AND HYBRID NARRATIVE MODES Preface Salman Rushdie: The Satanic Verses (1988) Hanif Kureishi: The Buddha of Suburbia (1990) Kazuo Ishiguro: When We Were Orphans (2000) PART III: NARRATIVE CONSTRUCTIONS OF IDENTITY Preface Angela Carter: Nights at the Circus (1984) Jeanette Winterson: Written on the Body (1992) Graham Swift: Last Orders (1996) Bibliography Index

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews