Evening Songs

Evening Songs

by Julian Lloyd Webber


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Evening Songs

Instrumental arrangements of art songs often seem to strike at the balance of music and text that's at the heart of any good song, and are generally best enjoyed in small doses. This release by British cellist Julian Lloyd Webber, however, shows every sign of being a labor of love, and it's an exception to the rule. The collection of 21 songs by Delius and the closely related (at least in the song realm) John Ireland includes some unknown melodic gems, such as the early "Birds in the High Hall Garden" of Delius, which inspired the whole project on Webber's part. Webber did most of the arrangements himself, and they're nicely calibrated to the wondrous sounds of his 1690 Stravidarius. The presence of pianist John Lenehan, an Ireland specialist, contributes to the whole effect, as does the inclusion of Webber's wife, cellist Jiaxin Cheng, on a couple of tracks. The engineering, at the acoustically very fine Wyastone Leys estate in England's Monmouthshire region, is unimpeachable. What it all adds up to is the elusive feeling that you're not listening to transcriptions at all. This is a valuable addition to the cello-and-piano literature (many of these pieces would be ideal singly or in small groups for student recitals), and taken as a whole it's a luxuriant hour of melody.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/28/2012
Label: Naxos
UPC: 0747313290277
catalogNumber: 8572902


  1. Hassan, incidental music, RT i/9: Sunset
  2. In summer woods (How jubilant the summer sky), for soprano, alto & piano
  3. Her song, for voice & piano (from "Songs (3) to Poems by Thomas Hardy")
  4. Songs (4) for voice & piano, RT v/11: With Your Blue Eyes
  5. Songs (3) to Poems by Thomas Hardy, for voice & piano: Summer Schemes
  6. Songs (5) from the Norwegian, for voice & piano, RT v/5: Slumber Song
  7. Ladslove, for voice & piano (from "The Land of Lost Content")
  8. Hope the Hornblower, for voice & piano
  9. Songs (2) for Children, for chorus & piano, RT v/29: Little Birdie
  10. The three ravens, folk song arrangement for voice & piano
  11. Mother and Child, cycle of 8 songs for voice & piano: Baby
  12. Danish Songs (7), for voice & orchestra or piano, RT iii/4: Through Long, Long Years
  13. Hassan, incidental music, RT i/9: Serenade
  14. The Holy Boy, version for cello & piano
  15. Over the Mountains High, song for voice & piano, RT v/2
  16. Sea fever, for voice & piano
  17. English Songs (3), for voice & piano, RT v/12: Love's Philosophy
  18. Danish Songs (7), for voice & orchestra or piano, RT iii/4: In the Seraglio Garden
  19. Evening song, for soprano, alto & piano
  20. Maud, song cycle for tenor & orchestra, RT iii/3: Birds in the High Hall Garden
  21. Spring Sorrow, for voice & piano

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Evening Songs 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
KlingonOpera More than 1 year ago
From the first track, it is clear that we are in for some beautiful music from Julian Lloyd Webber, who has arranged music of Delius and John Ireland for cello and piano. Particularly noteworthy is Delius’ Sunset demonstrating warm beautiful cello tone, Delius’ Love’s Philosophy featuring evocative cello playing and wonderful piano accompaniment up and down the keyboard, Ireland’s Baby which has a warm you-can’t-not-smile feel to it, Delius’ somber (and thoroughly enjoyable) 3 Ravens, and finishing off the recording is Ireland’s In Summer Woods featuring Jiaxin Cheng on cello. The pianist throughout is John Lenehan, and he does a fine job as an accompanist, offering depth of feeling and warmth in his playing. Overall this is beautiful music played well, and if you are Delius fan or an Ireland fan, you will likely enjoy these arrangements very much. I am very pleased to have added this to my collection.