Eye of the Storm

Eye of the Storm

by The Isaacs


$12.62 $13.99 Save 10% Current price is $12.62, Original price is $13.99. You Save 10%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/16/2002
Label: Horizon
UPC: 0783895091628
catalogNumber: 916
Rank: 90660

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Isaacs   Primary Artist
Rickie Simpkins   Fiddle,Group Member
Ben Isaacs   Vocals,Acoustic Bass,Group Member
Tim Surrett   Dobro,Vocals,Group Member
Sonya Isaacs Surrett   Mandolin,Vocals,Group Member
Lily Isaacs   Vocals,Group Member
John Bowman   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Violin,Vocals,Group Member
Rebecca Isaacs Bowman   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Rebecca Isaacs   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

John Stafford Smith   Composer
Isaacs   Producer
Ben Isaacs   Producer,Audio Production
Mickey Gamble   Executive Producer
Francis Scott Key   Composer
Wendell Woods   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Eye of the Storm 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Isaacs' "Eye of the Storm" includes 14 new songs that provide insight, direction and advice to stand with Jesus to survive life's stormy perils that rage around us. The Isaacs are well-known for their professionally-arranged acoustic bluegrass gospel music, with excellent vocal harmony and superb instrumental prowess. The band includes Lily Isaacs (vocals), Ben Isaacs (bass,vocals), Sonya Isaacs Surrett (mandolin, vocals), Rebecca Isaacs Bowman (guitar, vocals), Tim Surrett (dobro, vocals), John Bowman (guitar, banjo, vocals), and Rickie Simpkins (fiddle). Simpkins has only been with The Isaacs since late 2001, and his distinctive fiddling adds so much to their outstanding sound, but I understand that he is no longer touring with the group. Guest artists Jeff Collins (piano), Tony Creasman (percussion), and David Johnson (banjo) each contribute on one song apiece. While all lyrics are included with this CD, The Isaacs should have identified the vocalists for each song. There's a very nice variety of material on this album. The project opens with Dottie Rambo's uptempo "He Ain't Never Done Me Nothin' But Good " that features some fine vocals interspersed with tasty banjo and fiddle. David Johnson wrote "Walking Down the Road," a bouncy number that allows the guitar, mandolin, dobro and fiddle to shine. Dee Gaskin's two contributions (Evergreen Shore, Another Soldier Down) demonstrate strong lyrical and melodic sensibilities, and Gerald Crabb's two compositions (Who Will Survive the Storm, The Sun Will Never Set Again) show that he can write contemporary gospel songs that provide inspiration from a uniquely traditional perspective. Of the other original songs on this album written by band members Sonya, Rebecca, and Tim, "He's Taking Care of Me" and "There Through It All" and "He is Leading Me" all share a common message. While the young child singing a verse on the former is cute (liner notes don't identify the young vocalist), I think I would have left that off the album. The song, "It is Well (Elisha's Song)" is receiving good radio airplay around the country. "Don't Let Your Light Grow Dim" is a personal favorite with its old-time gospel bounce, as is the bluegrassy "Why Are You Hungry?" which reminds me of a song that Reno and Smiley could have done fifty years ago. The album closes with a sensational a capella rendition of "Star Spangled Banner" that sent a tingle up this reviewer's spine, especially as their soaring vocals explode like bombs bursting in air. The Isaacs have a clear winner with Eye of the Storm. For over three decades, this group has been touring, thrilling audiences, and presenting their ministry in song. Their well-seasoned professionalism makes this album a "must-buy" for bluegrass gospel fans everywhere. (Joe Ross, staff writer, Bluegrass Now)