Pub. Date:
Fading West

Fading West

by SwitchfootSwitchfoot


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 28


San Diego's Switchfoot made a splash in the early and mid-2000s with such hit singles as "Dare You to Move" and "Stars." Those songs showcased Switchfoot's anthemic, passionate guitar-based rock sound and helped secure their position as one of the most successful Christian rock bands on the secular pop scene. Since then, Switchfoot have released several albums that found them experimenting with various pop sounds that moved them away from the straightforward punk-influenced rock of their earlier work. Switchfoot's ninth studio album, 2014's Fading West, continues in this varied creative direction with a batch of songs inspired by the band's love of surfing. Recorded in tandem with a worldwide tour of well-known surf spots, captured on the 2013 Fading West documentary, the album is an upbeat, uplifting affair. The band, once again centered around lead singer/songwriter Jon Foreman, returns to both its musical roots and its beach and surf culture roots. The result is an album that at once pushes Switchfoot's sound forward, while displaying the band's long-running knack for melodic, catchy pop songs. Essentially, Fading West finds the group splitting the difference between the anthemic guitar-based uplift of 2003's The Beautiful Letdown and the more post-punk/dance-rock-inclined approach of 2006's Oh! Gravity. Tracks like "Say It Like You Mean It" and "Who We Are" bring to mind Achtung Baby-era U2, while other cuts like "Slipping Away" and "Let It Out" fit nicely alongside work by more contemporary bands like OneRepublic. Ultimately, much like riding a surfboard from wave to wave, Fading West moves from earnest ballads to dancey, groove-oriented cuts to breezy, sunshine-soaked rockers with an easy, athletic flow.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/14/2014
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678683824
catalogNumber: 536462


  1. Love Alone Is Worth the Fight
  2. Who We Are
  3. When We Come Alive
  4. Say It Like You Mean It
  5. The World You Want
  6. Slipping Away
  7. BA55
  8. Let It Out
  9. All Or Nothing at All
  10. Saltwater Heart
  11. Back to the Beginning Again

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Switchfoot   Primary Artist
Tim Foreman   Group Member
Jerome Fontamillas   Group Member
Jon Foreman   Group Member
Drew Shirley   Group Member
Chad Butler   Group Member

Technical Credits

Neal Avron   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Tim Foreman   Composer,Cover Design
John Painter   Instrumentation
Switchfoot   Programming,Engineer
Mike Elizondo   Programming,Instrumentation,Additional Production
Adam Hawkins   Engineer
Tim Pagnotta   Composer
David Hodges   Composer
Eric Owyoung   Programming,Instrumentation
Jon Foreman   Composer
Sarah Mason   Instrumentation
Drew Pearson   Composer,Instrumentation
Eric Robinson   Engineer
Josh Silverberg   Instrumentation
Jared Fox   Instrumentation
Jared Swafford   Cover Design
Blaine Stark   Instrumentation
Austin Blasingame   Cover Design
Brandon Zedaker   Engineer,Instrumentation
Foreman Brothers   Producer
Tanner Sparks   Engineer
Chad Butler   Composer

Customer Reviews