Formal Specification and Design

Formal Specification and Design

ISBN-10:
0521435927
ISBN-13:
9780521435925
Pub. Date:
11/14/2005
Publisher:
Cambridge University Press

Paperback

Current price is , Original price is $72.0. You
Select a Purchase Option (New Edition)
  • purchase options
    $55.55 $72.00 Save 23% Current price is $55.55, Original price is $72. You Save 23%.
  • purchase options

Overview

Formal Specification and Design

Formal specification is a method for precisely modelling computer-based systems that combines concepts from software engineering and mathematical logic. In this book the authors describe algebraic and state-based specification techniques from the unified view of the Common Object-oriented Language for Design, COLD, a wide-spectrum language in the tradition of VDM and Z. The kernel language is explained in detail, with many examples, including: set representation, a display device, an INGRES-like database system, and a line editor. Fundamental techniques such as initial algebra semantics, loose semantics, partial functions, hiding, sharing, predicate and dynamic logic, abstraction functions, representation of invariants and black-box correctness are also presented. More advanced ideas, for example Horn logic, and large systems are given in the final part. Appendices contain full details of the language's syntax and a specification library. Techniques for software development and design are emphasised throughout, so the book will be an excellent choice for courses in these areas.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780521435925
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 11/14/2005
Series: Cambridge Tracts in Theoretical Computer Science Series , #35
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 352
Product dimensions: 6.85(w) x 9.72(h) x 0.75(d)

Table of Contents

Part I. Algebraic Specification: 1. Introducing the basic concepts; 2. Setting up algebraic specifications; 3. Structuring algebraic specifications; 4. Implementing algebraic specifications; Part II. State-Based Specification: 5. From algebras to states; 6. Setting up state-based specification; 7. Structuring state-based specification; 8. Implementing state-based specification; Part III. Advanced Techniques: 9. Theoretical topics; 10. Additional language constructs; 11. Towards large systems; Bibliography; Appendices; Index.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews