Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Good Intentions: A Novel

Good Intentions: A Novel

by Kasim Ali
Good Intentions: A Novel

Good Intentions: A Novel

by Kasim Ali

Hardcover

$26.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 6

Overview

"Absorbing, compelling, and beautifully written. Its ending brought me close to tears." —Beth O'Leary, bestselling author of The Flatshare

For fans of The Big Sick and Nick Hornby
—a magnetic debut novel about a young man who has hidden a romance from his parents, unable to choose between familial obligation and the future he truly wants.

If love really is a choice, how do you decide where your loyalties lie?

It’s the countdown to the New Year, and Nur is steeling himself to tell his parents that he’s seeing someone. A young British Pakistani man, Nur has spent years omitting details about his personal life to maintain his image as the golden child. And it’s come at a cost.

Once, Nur was a restless college student, struggling to fit in. At a party, he meets Yasmina, a beautiful and self-possessed aspiring journalist. They start a conversation—first awkward, then absorbing. And as their relationship develops, so too does Nur’s self-destruction. He falls deeper into traps of his own making, attempting to please both Yasmina and his family until he must finally reveal the truth: Yasmina is Black, and he loves her.

Deftly transporting readers between that first night and the years beyond, Kasim Ali's Good Intentions exposes with unblinking authenticity the complexities of immigrant families and racial prejudice. It is a crackling, wryly clever depiction of standing on the precipice of adulthood, piecing together who it is you’re meant to be.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250809605
Publisher: Holt, Henry & Company, Inc.
Publication date: 03/08/2022
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 67,583
Product dimensions: 6.50(w) x 9.80(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Kasim Ali works at Penguin Random House, and has previously been shortlisted for Hachette’s Mo Siewcherran Prize and longlisted for the 4th Estate BAME Short Story Prize, and has contributed to The Good Journal. He comes from Birmingham and lives in London. Good Intentions is Ali's first novel.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items