Heart of Glass

Heart of Glass

by Nicole Jacquelyn

Paperback

$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 21

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781538711859
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 07/10/2018
Series: Fostering Love Series , #3
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 180,710
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Nicole Jacquelyn is the author of the popular Aces series as well as the Fostering Love novels. She is also the mom of two little girls and one lazy Boxer pup. She hasn't watched television in well over a year, she still does things that drive her mother crazy, and she loves to read. Since the age of twelve she knew she wanted to be a writer. But first she became a mom, then she went to college, and during her senior year—with one daughter in first grade and the other in preschool—she sat down and wrote a story.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Heart of Glass 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous 10 months ago
I would have liked to see Trevor with a nice girl. You know? The opposite of Morgan. She seemed too spoiled and demanding.
mamalovestoread22 11 months ago
Morgan Riley thought she had life all nailed down, and then in the blink of an eye she felt it being ripped from her, she found out she was expecting, and the father of her baby chose his career over them and walked away. Which pretty much put an end to things between them, she informed him she was keeping their baby, and did not expect him to offer them support and or anything else, he was free to go. Losing him was tough, but knowing that he wasn't going to be their for her and their daughter was downright heartbreaking, she thought he was a better man than that, but obviously she thought wrong. Now two years later her and Etta are doing fine on their own; they have a roof over their heads, she has a decent job, and they have a good support system of friends and her family... but now that support system is about to get bigger. She never knew much about her ex's family, and they knew nothing about her and her daughter, but after Henry died and his military benefit paperwork was sent to his family they learned that Henry had a secret. And now they are heading her way for answers... As soon as Trevor and his family learn that Henry had been keeping a big secret from them, that he had a daughter they never knew about, they immediately decided that they wanted to meet Etta and her mother. With some consideration Trevor decided to be the one to show up on her doorstep and introduce himself, and let her know that there was a family that would love to meet them, but once he is there on that doorstep things take an unexpected turn. There is an instant attraction to his brother's ex, and it feels so wrong to want her, but damned if he doesn't want to step in and take his brother's place in their lives. It's the family he has always wanted for himself, and he can't fathom why his brother would want nothing to do with them, he wants to do right by them and do what his brother should have done all along... but Morgan isn't so sure she can trust another Harris man! Heart of Glass is a heart-wrenching tale that will take a serious toll on your heart and your thoughts, it will wreck you in the best possible way! From the very beginning I knew this one was going to hurt a little, the story took off, my heart felt the squeeze, the emotions started to swirl, and I had to fight the tears the whole way through... but somewhere along the way it started to hurt a lot less, and I felt my heart being mended, and a rejoicing feeling coming on. Once again I have to say that I am beyond impressed with Ms. Jacquelyn's beautiful words, and her well crafted characters, this wonderful combination hit me deep in the heart, and left me forever moved! I highly recommend you take a chance on this series, each book is packed with an powerful emotional punch that is certain to be felt long after the last page is turned! I requested an advanced copy of this title from NetGalley, and I am voluntarily leaving my honest opinion.
tiggeruoSO 11 months ago
Morgan has a two-year-old and she will stop at nothing to protect her little girl even it that is from her fathers family. Trevor seeks out to find the women who hold the last tie to his brother. When finds her he doesn't know what he expected but he never expected to be attracted to her. Can they work together for Etta and their families and protect their hearts? I usually don't like books that are told in a first person, however in this book the author did a good job at giving a perspective from both main characters. I really am not sure what I thought of this book. It flows well and you're not left guessing whats going to happen. I really liked how the author gave a big role to Etta she was always sassy and fun to read. I liked Morgan and how she was strong and broken but willing to put her love for her sister and her family no matter what. Trevor has a big heart and also will do anything to protect his family and those he loves. The characters deal with lots of emotional and hard tropics. I feel like the amount of strong language I could have done without. I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley. I was under no obligation to post a review and have given my honest opinion
AmyBosica 11 months ago
Heart of Glass is the third book in The Fostering Love Series and follows the story of Morgan and Trevor. While this book is the third in its series, it can be read and enjoyed as a stand-alone novel. When I first picked up this book, I was floored by the prologue. I wanted to know more about Henry and the reason he stayed away from his daughter. To then find out he was killed in action….well, lets just say I was shocked. Then we meet Morgan, and we see that she’s struggling. She’s trying to do the best that she can with the cards life has dealt her, but it’s not easy. And when Trevor shows up, he is a complication that Morgan just doesn’t need. Trevor wants to right all the wrongs his brother committed, but truthfully, I think Morgan would be happy if he stayed away. As time goes on, Morgan and Trevor start develop feelings for one another. Feelings that seem so wrong, but just can’t be ignored…. Overall, I thought this book was an ok read. It was definitely a quick one and I was able to finish it in just a few short hours. When I first started reading this book, I was hooked right off the bat. I was intrigued by the story-line and wanted to know more. Morgan wasn’t the easiest character to love or connect with for me. But, I did appreciate her determination, strength and independence, even if she was stubborn most of the time. And Trevor…well, he was impossible to not fall in love with. He is a total family man–nothing is more important to him. He’s devoted, sweet, understanding and just totally perfect. Together, I thought these two made an interesting pair, especially with their history. I also really enjoyed the family drama and dynamics. You could tell that Morgan loved Etta more than anything in the world and that there is nothing she wouldn’t do for her. You could also tell that she was very protective of her other family members and would try to help them out of any situation. And Trevor’s family, while they weren’t perfect, they meant well and you could tell just how much family meant to them. I did have some issues with this series. As much as I enjoyed Trevor and Morgan together, I was left wanting more from them. Their situation was definitely one of insta-love and for me, it just didn’t work. For their type of story, I needed more emotion. I need more build up. I wanted to really see them fall and fight for each other. Don’t get me wrong, there was some romance and sexy good times, but for the most part, it was light on the romance. This story was definitely more family centered, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, it just wasn’t what I was expecting to be the focus. My only other issue was the angst, or the lack there of. I really, really missed the angst. It was pretty much nonexistent and that is one of the things that I have come to know and love from this author. Overall, I thought this book was an ok read. I liked the overall theme of family and how important it is to have them around/in your life. Heart of Glass is sweet story, but just left me wanting more. And while it’s not my favorite in this series, I’m still glad I checked it out.
Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks 11 months ago
The Fostering Love series is a treasure I stumbled upon when I picked up Heart of Glass. Nicole Jacquelyn pulls on the heart strings as a single mother comes into contact with her daughter's other family. When Etta's father's adopted brother pays a visit on behalf of the family, Morgan must decide whether she's willing to let them in. Readers will dive into this blend of romance and family drama with gusto and finish in record time! The characters in this story are all struggling to return to normal life after the death of Henry Harris. For Trevor, it means cleaning up the mess his little brother left when he kept his own daughter a secret and left Morgan to raise her alone. At first glance I thought this would be a complex tale, but it's quite straightforward. The most complicated it gets is when Trevor and Morgan fight their attraction and attempt to sort out their feelings. Morgan and Trevor both have backgrounds in foster care, but time and experience turned out two opposite natured individuals. She refuses any offer of help, and won't ask for it, while Trevor is always looking for a chance to give a helping hand. I love that their differences were directly opposing because it made for an interesting read to see how they would work it out on top of their complicated family structure. There's a lot of tension between Trevor's mom and Morgan that stems from the loss of Henry and Morgan's fear of not being a good enough mom. I love that it wasn't glossed over or resolved easily because forming a family connection isn't always a piece of cake. Jacquelyn adds a heavy dose of reality to her writing that will draw in readers from any background. Heart of Glass, and the companion novels of the Fostering Love series, is perfect for fans of Jamie McGuire or Catherine Bybee! *ARC provided in consideration for review*