Heavenly Streams: Meridian Theory in Nei Gong

Heavenly Streams: Meridian Theory in Nei Gong

Heavenly Streams: Meridian Theory in Nei Gong

Heavenly Streams: Meridian Theory in Nei Gong


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


The art of connecting with, feeling and adjusting the energy body using the consciousness is a key aspect of Nei Gong and Qi Gong. It sits somewhere between Qi Gong, meditation and the lesser-known art of Shen Gong, and although it is known in China it has never before been written about in an accessible way in the West.

Damo Mitchell provides step-by-step instructions on how to experience the various elements which make up the energy body, explaining how to identify and feel these, and how to diagnose imbalances and restore harmony. He describes the nature of the five elements, the meridians and the meridian points, inviting the reader to experience them through guided internal exercises using the body, breath and mind. Instructional drawings and photographs are included throughout the book.

Connecting the fundamentals of Chinese medicine with the lesser-known spiritual and esoteric aspects of practice, this book will be of great interest to intermediate and advanced practitioners of Qi Gong, Nei Gong, Taijiquan and Chinese medicine.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781848191167
Publisher: Jessica Kingsley Publishers
Publication date: 03/28/2013
Series: Daoist Nei Gong
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Damo Mitchell has studied the martial, medical and spiritual arts of Asia since the age of four. His studies have taken him across the planet in search of authentic masters. He is the technical director of the Lotus Nei Gong School of Daoist Arts, and teaches Nei Gong in the UK, Sweden and the USA. He is the author of Daoist Nei Gong: The Philosophical Art of Change, also published by Singing Dragon.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgements. Foreword by Rob Aspell. Preface. Introduction to the Heavenly Streams. 1. The Dao of Understanding. 2. The Five Lights. 3. Heavenly Streams. 4. The Movements of Heaven. 5. Entering the Stream. 6. Further Exploration. 7. The Earthly Fruit. 8. Disruption of Heaven and Earth. 9. The Celestial Pillar. 10. Building a Picture. 11. Meridian Points. 12. Conclusion and Going Further. Glossary of Pinyin Terms. Recommended Reading. About the Author. Index.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews