Holst: A Winter Idyll; Elegy; Indra; A Song of the Night; Etc.

Holst: A Winter Idyll; Elegy; Indra; A Song of the Night; Etc.


$18.04 $18.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.04, Original price is $18.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Holst: A Winter Idyll; Elegy; Indra; A Song of the Night; Etc.

When investigating the music of Gustav Holst, you ought to hear "The Planets" before the symphonic poem "Indra," the "St. Paul's Suite" before the ballet music from "The Lure," and "Edgon Heath" before the Interlude from Act Three of the opera "Sita." But if you are already familiar with Holst's best-known works and most of his lesser-known works as well -- and you liked what you've heard -- you should by all means try this disc of Holst rarities with David Atherton leading either the London Philharmonic or the London Symphony. There is much early Holst here, music full of oriental excess -- "Indra" and "Sita" -- and of Wagnerian rhetoric -- "A Winter Idyll" and "Elegy (In Memoriam William Morris)." There is some later Holst here, music full of nervous vigor and robust brilliance -- "The Lure" ballet music and particularly the dances from "The Morning of the Year." And while not all of the music is top-drawer Holst -- "the later the date, the better the music" holds true -- most of it is at least interesting and some of it is flat-out terrific. "Indra" has its moments of poetic grandeur; "A Song of the Night for violin and orchestra" has its own special dark lyricism; the "Invocation for cello and orchestra" has its tone of solemn intensity. There are no undiscovered masterpieces here, it's true, but fans of the early twentieth century English composer will surely want to hear these piece, particularly in these first-rate performances by either the LPO or the LSO led by the deeply dedicated David Atherton -- so dedicated that you can occasionally hear him groan at climaxes. Lyrita's lush stereo sound from 1982 and lucid digital sound from 1993 are in their different ways equally fine.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/13/2007
Label: Lyrita
UPC: 5020926020925
catalogNumber: 209
Rank: 249958


  1. A Winter Idyll, for orchestra, H. 31
  2. Elegy In Memoriam William Morris, for orchestra, Op. 8, H. 47 (from unpublished "The Cotswolds" Symphony)
  3. Indra, symphonic poem, Op. 13, H. 66
  4. A Song of the Night, for violin & orchestra. Op. 19/1, H. 74
  5. Sita, opera, Op. 23, H. 89: Act 3. Interlude
  6. Invocation, for cello & orchestra, Op.19/2, H. 75
  7. The Lure, ballet, H.149
  8. The Morning of the Year, choral ballet, Op. 45/2; H. 164: 1) Introduction / 2)First Dance / 3)Second Dance /

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews