I Didn't See It Coming

I Didn't See It Coming

by William E. Jones
I Didn't See It Coming

I Didn't See It Coming

by William E. Jones


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


I Didn’t See It Coming is the dark and exciting culmination of William E. Jones’s trilogy of novels set in Los Angeles. The new book begins several years after the end of the second novel. I Should Have Known Better’s former art school students and their companions face decisions about whether they should continue their frivolous adventures or begin to lead more conventional lives. As these bright young things approach middle age—and gentrification swallows up affordable neighborhoods—they find themselves dealing with real life in all its unpleasantness against a background of news about the war in Iraq. Due to stubbornness or inertia, the narrator sticks to his bohemian ways, finding work in the porn industry, while his friends settle down, flourish as artists, leave town, or destroy themselves.

I Didn’t See It Coming continues the stories of all of the major characters in the trilogy, including Moira, the idealistic leftist who emigrates to Mexico; Bernie, the brilliant but wildly impractical teacher and book collector; Paul, the promiscuous and acidly witty fop; and Winston, the Balkan immigrant who returns to Europe and is catapulted to art stardom. The novel also reveals the fate of Temo, the love of the narrator’s life, who disappears under mysterious circumstances at the conclusion of I Should Have Known Better. I Didn’t See It Coming is a page turner bristling with energy and brimming with the kind of explicit sex scenes that readers have come to expect from the author of I’m Open to Anything and True Homosexual Experiences.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781737842828
Publisher: We Heard You Like Books
Publication date: 06/15/2023
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 862,952
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

William E. Jones is an artist, filmmaker, and writer. He has published the following books: Is It Really So Strange? (2006); Tearoom (2008); Heliogabalus (2009); "Killed": Rejected Images of the Farm Security Administration (2010); Halsted Plays Himself (2011); Between Artists: Thom Andersen and William E. Jones (2013); Imitation of Christ (2013), the catalogue accompanying an exhibition at UCLA Hammer Museum; Flesh and the Cosmos (2014); and True Homosexual Experiences: Boyd McDonald and Straight to Hell (2016).
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews