Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Ice Angel: An Alex Turner Thriller

Ice Angel: An Alex Turner Thriller

by Matthew Hart

Narrated by Thor Tom

Unabridged — 7 hours, 33 minutes

Matthew Hart
Ice Angel: An Alex Turner Thriller

Ice Angel: An Alex Turner Thriller

by Matthew Hart

Narrated by Thor Tom

Unabridged — 7 hours, 33 minutes

Matthew Hart

Audiobook (Digital)

$19.49
(Not eligible for purchase using B&N Audiobooks Subscription credits)
$22.00 Save 11% Current price is $19.49, Original price is $22. You Save 11%.

Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app


Overview

Alex Turner and his treacherous lover, the Russian diamond thief Slav Lily, are back on the hunt. An American prospector is murdered in the great diamond field of northern Canada-a magical landscape of pristine lakes and granite ridges and scarlet vegetation.

The U.S. government fears that the Chinese billionaire twins who suddenly control the dead prospector's company are seeking a toehold for their government in this vital northern region.

As we race across the globe with Alex and Lily, Hart keeps a heart-bounding pace with lethal plane chases across the diamond-rich Barrens and a battle between the scheming twins and Mitzi Angel, the murdered prospector's daughter. All the while, The Ice Angel delves into the dark realpolitik of America's strategy while untangling the Byzantine motives that drive the diamond trade.

In this explosive sequel to the breakout The Russian Pink, Alex and Lily must struggle with the rivalry, and sometimes the deceit, that wraps their love in its coils.


Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

07/26/2021

The disappearance of renowned American diamond hunter Jimmy Angel, while on an expedition to the Canadian Arctic, drives Hart’s page-turning sequel to 2020’s The Russian Pink. Angel allegedly discovered one of the richest diamond fields on the planet—but when Chinese billionaires with ties to China’s military take over control of Angel’s business and the remote area he claimed in his absence, Department of Treasury agent Alex Turner is sent to investigate. As tensions among China, Canada, and America escalate, Turner needs to unravel a complicated tangle of conspiracies, lies, and greed—all of which somehow involves his Russian girlfriend, diamond thief Slav Lily. Though the plot is overly knotty in places, lyrical prose that complements the novel’s stark setting and tone makes up for much (“Outside, the sky was closing like a steel lid. A slate-gray slab coasted in and crushed the frail day”). Albeit flawed, this is a dark gem of a thriller. Agent: Michael Carlisle, InkWell Management. (Sept.)

Booklist

"In this exciting follow-up, Hart takes readers to the Arctic where U.S. Treasury agent Alex Turner and his lover, ally, and sometimes-competitor, Russian jewel thief Slav Lily, are teamed up again against the bizarre Chinese billionaire twins who have gained control of a murdered prospector’s company. Fold in a dash of the prospector’s vengeful daughter, a heaping spoonful of assorted government operatives, and a full cup of international politics, and you get an absolutely no-holds-barred adventure, perfect for fans of Cussler and Ludlum.

The Star Tribune

A witty, high-octane international thriller with a plot as multifaceted as a Rubik’s cube. If we are lucky, Alex Turner will return. . . .

Christopher Reich

"A crackerjack, gem of a thriller. "Ice Angel" is a shot of adrenaline. Fast-paced, expertly-written with an insider's knowledge - not just of diamonds, but much, much more - that elevates the book to another level. Honestly, this one is hard to put down. Damn near flawless."

The Christian Science Monitor

Praise for The Russian Pink:

Studded with facts about black market diamond trading, this fictional thriller has adrenaline rushes, villainous plotters, and glamorous gems galore.

STARRED REVIEW Booklist

A rare gem, punning aside. The Russian Pink will enthrall fans for Jack Reacher and Jason Bourne, and leave them hoping for more Alex Turner."

Mitch Silver

An exhilarating read that has more facets than even the world’s biggest diamond.

James Grady

A deft, fast-paced thriller that shines its light on a fascinating and dangerous world few of us know about.”

Chris Reich

"A crackerjack, gem of a thriller. "Ice Angel" is a shot of adrenaline. Fast-paced, expertly-written with an insider's knowledge - not just of diamonds, but much, much more - that elevates the book to another level. Honestly, this one is hard to put down. Damn near flawless."

Product Details

BN ID: 2940178819883
Publisher: Scribd Audio
Publication date: 01/11/2022
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews