Inside Out [Expanded Edition]

Inside Out [Expanded Edition]

by Fates Warning


$16.72 $18.99 Save 12% Current price is $16.72, Original price is $18.99. You Save 12%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Inside Out [Expanded Edition]

A decent follow-up to Parallels that at times exceeds it, but not as effective as a collective whole. Mark Zonder's drumming approach continues to impress and Jim Matheos' guitar arrangements have grown increasingly complex; however, the band seems to be struggling for a clear direction. An effort toward commercial success is evident; however, they are also attempting to satisfy their core fan base. The standard strong structures can grow tiresome, but there are catchy melodies such as "Shelter Me" and "Pale Fire." "Island in the Stream" is a memorable ballad that works despite the use of strings. "Down to the Wire" and "Face the Fear" are aggressive songs that show the band's energy, but again suffer from pop clichés. "Monument" is the session's best performance and has become one of the band's most requested songs (Mark Zonder is simply astonishing on this track). For all the fans who are in awe of Dream Theater's Mike Portnoy, it would be a disservice not to investigate the progressive stylings of Zonder. The music here is bubbling just below the surface, but never quite erupts as it should. Still recommended for Zonder's performance alone.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/05/2012
Label: Metal Blade
UPC: 0039841511321
catalogNumber: 151132
Rank: 62918


Disc 1

  1. Outside Looking In
  2. Pale Fire
  3. The Strand
  4. Shelter Me
  5. Island In the Stream
  6. Down To the Wire
  7. Face the Fear
  8. Inward Bound
  9. Monument
  10. Afterglow

Disc 2

  1. Outside Looking In
  2. Down To the Wire
  3. The Eleventh Hour
  4. Point of View
  5. Face the Fear
  6. Outside Looking In
  7. Pale Fire
  8. Shelter Me
  9. Island In the Stream
  10. Face the Fear
  11. Monument
  12. Circles

Disc 3

  1. Outside Looking In
  2. Pale Fire
  3. The Strand
  4. Shelter Me
  5. Island In the Stream
  6. Down To the Wire
  7. Face the Fear
  8. Monument
  9. Afterglow Slide Show
  10. Live In Still Water
  11. Through Different Eyes
  12. Guardian
  13. Shades of Heavenly Death
  14. Mtv Europe Interview
  15. Eye To Ete
  16. Face the Face of Fear
  17. Don't Follow Me
  18. Shortest Show Ever
  19. Guardian

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Fates Warning   Primary Artist
Ray Alder   Group Member
Frank Aresti   Group Member
Joe DiBiase   Guest Appearance,Group Member
Jim Matheos   Group Member
Mark Zonder   Group Member
George Hideous   Guest Appearance
Fidel Horrendous   Guest Appearance
Arthur Letsgoberg   Guest Appearance
Sal Mortadelli   Guest Appearance

Technical Credits

Fates Warning   Producer
Bill Metoyer   Producer,Engineer
Hugh Syme   Art Direction
Ray Alder   Composer,Lyricist
Frank Aresti   Composer,Lyricist
Jim Matheos   Composer,Lyricist
Mark Husmann   Band Photo
Chris Anderson   Video Editor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews