Irish Eyes: a heartwarming, emotional historical fiction saga

Irish Eyes: a heartwarming, emotional historical fiction saga

by Hope C Tarr
Irish Eyes: a heartwarming, emotional historical fiction saga

Irish Eyes: a heartwarming, emotional historical fiction saga

by Hope C Tarr

Paperback

$17.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

TRAVEL FROM IRELAND TO NEW YORK IN THIS COMPELLING HISTORICAL ROMANCE OF HEARTBREAK AND SECOND CHANCES SET IN THE EARLY 20TH CENTURY.

"An expansive, breath-taking tale...Rose's voice is eloquent and lyrical, the writing glorious, and the historical detail superb."— Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author

"Hope Tarr's IRISH EYES is romantic, lyrical, and rich with historical detail. Readers will root for the brave Rose as she navigates the immigrant experience in an ever-expanding New York City. A compelling read!"—Heather Webb, USA Today bestselling author of The Next Ship Home

_________________

Aran Islands, 1898.

Rose O'Neill learns that her beloved brother Donal has died fighting in the Spanish-American war.

The news is followed by Donal's comrade-in-arms, Adam Blakely, who arrives a month later on Kilronan's scenic shores. He's come to return Rose's letters. Letters that Adam has re-read a hundred times.

Two weeks stretch into two glorious months, then Adam's father falls ill, and he's summoned home to New York.

He leaves Rose with the memory of a beautiful night and the promise of marriage. Yet Rose's eighteenth birthday comes and goes, and she doesn't hear a word.

Unable to ignore the child growing inside of her, she leaves the only home she's ever known, clutching Adam's address. But in New York's crowded harbor, she's met with a cruel awakening.

Penniless, pregnant, and alone in a foreign city, Rose must ford through sweatshops, Lower East Side tenements, and personal tragedy, before she can let go of her first love and hope for a second chance with a good, steady man.

Then, just as Rose makes peace with her past, changes nobody could have foreseen threaten to topple the life for which she has sacrificed so much.

Spanning the turn of the twentieth century, World War I, and the early Roaring Twenties, this historical tale gives an immersive and poignant look into New York City life. Perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen, Kate Kerrigan, Fiona Davis, Beatriz Williams, Hazel Gaynor, Kate Quinn and Heather Webb.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781839015557
Publisher: Lume Books
Publication date: 12/05/2023
Series: The American Songbook , #1
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 29,544
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.88(d)
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews