Isabelle Day Refuses to Die of a Broken Heart

Isabelle Day Refuses to Die of a Broken Heart

by Jane St. Anthony


$13.46 $14.95 Save 10% Current price is $13.46, Original price is $14.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Isabelle Day Refuses to Die of a Broken Heart by Jane St. Anthony

In Milwaukee, Isabelle Day had a house. And she had a father. This year, on Halloween, she has half of a house in Minneapolis, a mother at least as sad as she is, and a loss that’s too hard to think—let alone talk—about. It’s the Midwest in the early 1960s, and dads just don’t die . . . like that.

Hovering over Isabelle’s new world are the duplex’s too-attentive landladies, Miss Flora (“a lovely dried flower”) and her sister Miss Dora (“grim as roadkill”), who dwell in a sea of memories and doilies; the gleefully demonic Sister Mary Mercy, who rules a school awash in cigarette smoke; and classmates steady Margaret and edgy Grace, who hold out some hope of friendship. As Isabelle’s first tentative steps carry her through unfamiliar territory—classroom debacles and misadventures at home and beyond, time trapped in a storm-tossed cemetery and investigating an inhospitable hospital—she begins to discover that, when it comes to pain and loss, she might actually be in good company.

In light of the elderly sisters’ lives, Grace and Margaret’s friendship, and her father’s memory, she just might find the heart and humor to save herself. With characteristic sensitivity and wit, Jane St. Anthony reveals how a girl’s life clouded with grief can also hold a world of promise.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780816697991
Publisher: University of Minnesota Press
Publication date: 09/01/2015
Pages: 152
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Jane St. Anthony is the author of The Summer Sherman Loved Me and Grace Above All. She lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Table of Contents


1. Unhappy Halloween
2. Don’t Mess with the Spirits
3. Landlady Alert
4. Walking to Bedlam
5. Beneath the Silver Tray
6. Sea of Doilies
7. Breakfast Hostage
8. Saved by Grace
9. Bitter Rain
10. Cemetery Delegation
11. Rescue Mission
12. Hospital Bound
13. Breaking the Rules
14. No Turning Back
15. History of Loss
16. Backbone Engaged
17. A Little Less Sorrow
18. “Clair de Lune”
19. An Unwrappable Gift
20. Speaking the Unspeakable
21. Light Up
22. Snow Angels

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews