It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back

It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back

by Public EnemyPublic Enemy


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 5


Arguably the greatest hip-hop recording ever, It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back arrived in 1988, when rap music was just beginning to emerge in the mainstream. Chuck D and Flavor Flav adroitly captured the rage, dismay, and wit of African America during the late stages of the Reagan era. The rapping was eloquent and urgent, and the backing sound was abrasive and urbane. Songs like "Bring the Noise" and "Don't Believe the Hype" became big hits and idiomatic expressions. "Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos" was covered by Tricky; "Bring the Noise" was remade by Anthrax. With its powerful synthesis of articulate message and pop savvy, It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back made hip-hop an important force in popular culture. P.E. went on to record two more important statements, Fear of a Black Planet and Apocalypse '91...The Enemy Strikes Black, before being overtaken by nihilistic trends in hip-hop.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/02/1995
Label: Def Jam
UPC: 0731452735829
catalogNumber: 527358
Rank: 31122


  1. Countdown to Armageddon
  2. Bring the Noise
  3. Don't Believe the Hype
  4. Cold Lampin' with Flavor
  5. Terminator X to the Edge of Panic
  6. Mind Terrorist
  7. Louder Than a Bomb
  8. Caught, Can We Get a Witness?
  9. Show 'Em Whatcha Got
  10. She Watch Channel Zero?!
  11. Night of the Living Baseheads
  12. Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos
  13. Security of the First World
  14. Rebel Without a Pause
  15. Prophets of Rage
  16. Party for Your Right to Fight

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Public Enemy   Primary Artist
Professor Griff   Vocals
Chuck D   Vocals
Fab 5 Freddy   Vocals
Flavor Flav   Vocals
Terminator   Turntables
Norman Lee Rogers   scratching
Erica Johnson   Vocals
Oris Josphe   Vocals
Johnny Juice Rosado   scratching,Turntables
Harry Allen   Vocals

Technical Credits

Professor Griff   Contributor
Chuck D   Contributor
Flavor Flav   Contributor
John Harrison   Engineer
Rick Rubin   Executive Producer
Carl Ryder   Producer
Nick Sansano   Engineer
Christopher Shaw   Engineer
Hank Shocklee   Composer,Programming,Producer
Terminator   Contributor
Chuck Valle   Engineer
Eric Sadler   Composer,Programming,Contributor
Carlton Ridenhour   Composer
Norman Lee Rogers   Composer
Greg Gordon   Engineer
Jim Sabella   Engineer
William Drayton   Composer
Matt Tritto   Engineer
Jeff Jones   Engineer

Customer Reviews