Jawbreaker

Jawbreaker

by Christina Wyman
Jawbreaker

Jawbreaker

by Christina Wyman

Hardcover

$17.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Class II malocclusion, headgear and a frustrating nickname do not make for a good middle school experience, but that is what Max faces in Jawbreaker. Told with levity, heart and humor, this is a delightful debut about growing up and accepting yourself.

A USA Today bestseller perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile, this refreshingly honest middle-grade debut novel is about toxic sibling rivalry, socioeconomic disparity, and dental drama.

Smile meets Wonder in Wyman’s affirming debut.Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A hugely relatable must-read.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Max Plink’s life is complicated. Her parents aren’t getting along. The school bullies are relentless—and her own sister is the cruelest of them. Worst of all, her mouth is a mess. With a mismatched puzzle of a jaw, Max has a Class II malocclusion, otherwise known as a severe overbite. She already has braces, which means she lives on Advil and soft foods after each orthodontist appointment. But now Max has to wear painful (and totally awkward) orthodontic headgear nicknamed “the jawbreaker.” Could things get any worse?

Yes. The journalism competition Max wants to enter has a video component. But being on camera means showing her face not just to her junior high classmates, but possibly the whole city. Going viral is the last thing Max needs, but winning this competition is what she wants most. Turns out, following her dreams is complicated, too.

Inspired by Christina Wyman’s own experience with a Class II malocclusion, Jawbreaker is a humorous, heartfelt, and refreshingly relatable story.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780374389697
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication date: 10/24/2023
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 159,341
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile: 760L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Christina Wyman is a teacher and writer living in Michigan with her husband and silly rescue cat named Alfred—not to mention the raccoons, owls, and hummingbirds that occupy a tree outside their bedroom window. She grew up in a tiny apartment with her family in Brooklyn, New York, where she dreamed of becoming a writer. Her work has been published in New York Magazine, The Washington Post, Elle, Ms. Magazine, The Independent, and other outlets. Jawbreaker is her debut novel. When she’s not writing, you can find her stocking up on chocolate or trying to convince her husband to adopt more cats.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews