Kaye's and Malleson's History of the Indian Mutiny of 1857-8

Kaye's and Malleson's History of the Indian Mutiny of 1857-8


$57.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 23


This six-volume History of the Indian Mutiny was first produced in 1890 by Colonel George Malleson (1825-1898), who combined Sir John Kaye's History of the Sepoy War in India with his own later work. Kaye (1814-1876) was a prolific writer of biography and history who started the Calcutta Review in 1844. His use of first-hand evidence, collected from personal and professional contacts, supports (perhaps predictably) his assertion that the rebellion is a story of British 'national character', and the narrative is illustrated with biographical and personal anecdotes. Malleson's contributions however are derived from his controversial 'Red Pamphlet' (1857) and other writings, in which he is unafraid to criticise or praise British troops and administration as the occasion demands. Volume 1 contains the first three books, covering introductory remarks on political, military and religious history;
a description of the Sepoy army;
and the outbreak of the Mutiny.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781108023245
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 12/16/2010
Series: Cambridge Library Collection - Naval and Military History Series
Pages: 554
Product dimensions: 5.51(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.22(d)

Table of Contents

Preface; Book XVIII. The Civil Districts: 1. The territories under the Lieutenant-General of Bengal; 2. The territories under the Lieutenant-Governor of the North-Western Provinces; 3. The Allahabad division; 4. The Agra and Rohilkhand divisions; 5. Sindh and the native states of India; 6. The Indian navy; Index to complete work.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews