Kierkegaard: An Introduction

Kierkegaard: An Introduction

by C. Stephen Evans
Pub. Date:
Cambridge University Press


View All Available Formats & Editions
Current price is , Original price is $29.99. You
Select a Purchase Option (New Edition)
  • purchase options
    $22.93 $29.99 Save 24% Current price is $22.93, Original price is $29.99. You Save 24%.
  • purchase options
    $16.29 $29.99 Save 46% Current price is $16.29, Original price is $29.99. You Save 46%.
    Note: Access code and/or supplemental material are not guaranteed to be included with textbook rental or used textbook.
  • purchase options


Kierkegaard: An Introduction

C. Stephen Evans provides a clear, readable introduction to Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) as a philosopher and thinker. His book is organised around Kierkegaard's concept of the three 'stages' or 'spheres' of human existence, which provide both a developmental account of the human self and an understanding of three rival views of human life and its meaning. Evans also discusses such important Kierkegaardian concepts as 'indirect communication', 'truth as subjectivity', and the Incarnation understood as 'the Absolute Paradox'. Although his discussion emphasises the importance of Christianity for understanding Kierkgaard, it shows him to be a writer of great interest to a secular as well as a religious audience. Evans' book brings Kierkegaard into conversation with western philosophers past and present, presenting him as one who gives powerful answers to the questions which philosophers ask.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780521700412
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 05/31/2009
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 222
Sales rank: 831,298
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

C. Stephen Evans is University Professor of Philosophy and Humanities at Baylor University. His most recent published works include Kierkegaard: Fear and Trembling (2006) co-edited with Sylvia Walsh and Kierkegaard's Ethics of Love: Divine Commands and Moral Obligations (2004).

Table of Contents

1. Introduction: Kierkegaard's life and works; 2. Pseudonymity and indirect communication; 3. The human self: truth and subjectivity; 4. The stages of existence: forms of the aesthetic life; 5. The ethical life as the quest for selfhood; 6. Religious existence: religiousness; 7. Christian existence: faith and the paradox; 8. Kierkegaard's dual challenge to the contemporary world.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews