Ladies of the Lake

Ladies of the Lake

by Cathy Gohlke
Ladies of the Lake

Ladies of the Lake

by Cathy Gohlke

Paperback

$14.78  $16.99 Save 13% Current price is $14.78, Original price is $16.99. You Save 13%.
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

This gripping historical novel, set at the dawn of World War I and then seventeen years later, tells the story of how time and life can change friendships. If you like fictional stories based on real events, this one is for you. Bonus: A story of female friendship set on Prince Edward Island, of course, evokes Anne of Green Gables.

After the deep bond of friendship between two young women is torn apart, what will it take to bring them together again? In Ladies of the Lake, the beloved author of Saving Amelie and Night Bird Calling returns with a transformative new historical novel about the wonder and complexities of friendship, love, and belonging.

When she is forced to leave her beloved Prince Edward Island to attend Lakeside Ladies Academy after the death of her parents, the last thing Adelaide Rose MacNeill expects to find is three kindred spirits. The “Ladies of the Lake,” as the four girls call themselves, quickly bond like sisters, vowing that wherever life takes them, they will always be there for each other. But that is before: Before love and jealousy come between Adelaide and Dorothy, the closest of the friends. Before the dawn of World War I upends their world and casts baseless suspicion onto the German American man they both love. Before a terrible explosion in Halifax Harbor rips the sisterhood irrevocably apart.

Seventeen years later, Rosaline Murray receives an unsuspecting telephone call from Dorothy, now headmistress of Lakeside, inviting her to attend the graduation of a new generation of girls, including Rosaline’s beloved daughter. With that call, Rosaline is drawn into a past she’d determined to put behind her. To memories of a man she once loved . . . of a sisterhood she abandoned . . . and of the day she stopped being Adelaide MacNeill.
  • Written by a four-time Christy award–winning author!
  • Ideal for book clubs—contains helpful discussion questions at the end!
  • Perfect for fans of L. M. Montgomery, Louisa May Alcott, and Lauren Willig’s Band of Sisters.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781496453549
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers
Publication date: 07/11/2023
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 50,102
Product dimensions: 8.10(w) x 5.40(h) x 1.00(d)

What People are Saying About This

Lynn Austin

Ladies of the Lake touched my heart as it chronicled the enduring power of lifelong friendships. Gohlke’s characters came alive on the pages, sharing joys and sorrows, war and tragedy, betrayal, love, and forgiveness. Their deeply forged bonds were beautifully portrayed, reminding me to treasure my own dear friends.

Melanie Dobson

Reading Ladies of the Lake is like unwrapping a beautiful present. I savored every page until, with sweet tears, I discovered the most wonderful surprise near the end. Thank you, Cathy Gohlke, for this treasured gift—another redemption story crafted from your heart.

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews