Listening to Music

Listening to Music

by Craig M. Wright

Paperback(Older Edition)

$60.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780314067524
Publisher: West Group
Publication date: 06/28/1996
Series: Music
Edition description: Older Edition
Pages: 435
Product dimensions: 8.50(w) x 10.88(h) x 0.74(d)

About the Author

Craig M. Wright (Bachelor of Music, Eastman School of Music, 1966; Ph.D., Harvard University, 1972) taught at the University of Kentucky for one year and has taught at Yale University for the past thirty-two years. He is the author of numerous scholarly books and articles on composers ranging from Leoninus to Bach. Wright has also been the recipient of many awards, including a Guggenheim Fellowship, the Einstein and Kinkeldey Awards of the American Musicological Society, and the Dent Medal of the International Musicological Society. In 2004, he was awarded the honorary degree Doctor of Humane Letters from the University of Chicago. He has also published LISTENING TO MUSIC, Fifth Edition (Schirmer Cengage Learning, 2008).

Table of Contents

1. Listening to Music.
2.Rhythm, Melody, and Harmony.
3.Musical Color, Texture, and Form.
4.Medieval Music.
6.Early Baroque Music.
7.Late Baroque Music: Bach and Handel.
8.Classical Ideals: The World of Haydn and Mozart.
9.Classical Forms.
10.Classical Genres.
11.The Bridge to Romanticism: Ludwig van Beethoven.
12.The Romantic Spirit (1820-1900).
13.The Early Romantics.
14.Romantic Opera.
15.Late Romanticism.
16.From Romantic to Modern: Impressionism.
17.The Twentieth Century.
18.American Popular Music: Blues, Jazz, and Rock.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews