Logic Pro X - The Details (part 1): A new type of manual - the visual approach

Logic Pro X - The Details (part 1): A new type of manual - the visual approach

by Edgar Rothermich


$84.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 1  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Logic Pro X - The Details (part 1): A new type of manual - the visual approach by Edgar Rothermich

10.2 - 10.2 - 10.2 - 10.2 - 10.2

This book is the brand new (2015-0913), updated, and revised edition based on the latest version of Logic Pro X v10.2

My GEM books are the first and only Logic books based on the latest version 10.2. All other Logic books on the market are still based on older versions of Logic Pro

Please note that this is a print-on-demand book that reflects the most recent update of the book released on September 13th, 2015. The content of the book is updated to reflect the new features, changes and additions from the current Logic Pro X v10.1

"Logic Pro X - The Details", from the best-selling GEM series (Graphically Enhanced Manuals), is the follow-up book of "Logic Pro X - How it Works". It explains all the remaining features in Logic Pro X with the same style by using rich illustrations and diagrams that are not found in any other manual. This is the first time that even beginners and intermediate Logic users can explore the more advanced features in Logic due to that easy to understand, visual approach of this manual.

Due to the limitation of the print-on-demand books, this book is divided into two parts as the paperback versions. Here is the content of the Part 1 and Part 2:

Part 1

  • 1 - Introduction
  • 2 - Workflow
  • 3 - Advanced Editing
  • 4 - Flex Introduction
  • 5 - Flex Time
  • 6 - Flex Pitch
  • 7 - Browsers
  • 8 - Audio File Management
  • 9 - Advanced Audio
  • 10 - Advanced MIDI
  • 11 - Automation
  • 12 - Automation (advanced)

Part 2
  • 13 - Music Notation
  • 14 - Tempo & Time
  • 15 - Working to Picture
  • 16 - Synchronization
  • 17 - The Environment
  • 18 - Surround Sound
  • 19 - Control Surfaces

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781503182752
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 01/10/2015
Pages: 446
Sales rank: 861,416
Product dimensions: 8.50(w) x 11.00(h) x 1.16(d)

About the Author

Born in Germany, Edgar Rothermich studied music and sound engineering at the prestigious Tonmeister program at the Berlin Institute of Technology (TU) and the University of Arts (UdK) in Berlin where he graduated in 1989 with a Master's Degree. He worked as a composer and music producer in Berlin, and moved to Los Angeles in 1991 where he continued his work on numerous projects in the music and film industry ("The Celestine Prophecy", "Outer Limits", "Babylon 5", "What the Bleep Do We Know", "Fuel", "Big Money Rustlas").

For the past 20 years Edgar has had a successful musical partnership with electronic music pioneer and founding Tangerine Dream member Christopher Franke. Recently in addition to his collaboration with Christopher, Edgar has been working with other artists, as well as on his own projects.

In 2010 he started to release his solo records in the "Why Not ..." series with different styles and genres. The current releases are "Why Not Solo Piano", "Why Not Electronica", "Why Not Electronica Again", and "Why Not 90s Electronica". This previously unreleased album was produced in 1991/1992 by Christopher
Franke. All albums are available on Amazon and iTunes, including the 2012 release, the re-recording of the Blade Runner Soundtrack.

In addition to composing music, Edgar Rothermich is writing technical manuals with a unique style, focusing on rich graphics and diagrams to explain concepts and functionality of software applications under his popular GEM series (Graphically Enhanced Manuals). His bestselling titles are available as printed books on Amazon, as Multi-Touch iBooks on the iBooks Store and as pdf downloads from his website.

More information at www.DingDingMusic.com/GEM

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Logic Pro X - The Details (part 1): A new type of manual - the visual approach 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
JeremyBorum More than 1 year ago
Edgar Rothermich's Logic Pro X books are wonderful introductions that make a sophisticated program substantially more accessible. I am a professional composer and orchestrator, and I have read a LOT of software manuals. Most manuals are designed as references, and to understand them you usually have to be simultaneously using the software. Rothermich's approach, although technical and precise, is based on a conversational style and is focused on understanding instead of step-by-step how-to instructions. It's highly visual, and as a result nothing is left to the imagination. The end result is books you can read through from top to bottom, gaining an understanding of the software BEFORE fiddling with it. I highly recommend Rothermich's books for the beginner and intermediate user. They are so well organized that they could be the textbook for a semester-long course, but so easy to read that you might get through them in a week.