Luke: The Compassion of Christ

Luke: The Compassion of Christ

by David Jeremiah


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Jesus is the Great Physician.

According to the apostle Paul, Luke was a “beloved physician” who traveled with him on several of his missionary journeys. However, Luke’s real passion was in setting down an orderly account that detailed the birth, ministry, death, and resurrection of Jesus. This was a task for which Luke was well suited, for he was both a thoughtful man of science and a great observer of people. Luke thus took great care in relating the information he collected, but he also emphasized the care that Jesus, as the Great Physician, extended to people everywhere–both Jewish and Gentile alike. Luke shows the high value Jesus places on rescuing all people from their sins–no matter how “far gone” those people might seem. And he shows how Jesus was willing to give up His place in heaven to come down to earth as a sacrifice for the sins of every person who will receive Him.

The Jeremiah Bible Study Series captures Dr. David Jeremiah’s forty-plus years of commitment to teaching the Word of God. In each study, he will help you understand what the Bible says, what it meant to the people at the time it was written, and what it means to you today. Along the way, you will gain insights into the text, identify key stories and themes, and be challenged to apply the truth you find in your life.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780310091530
Publisher: Nelson, Thomas, Inc.
Publication date: 06/18/2019
Series: Jeremiah Bible Study Series
Pages: 160
Sales rank: 493,991
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

Dr. David Jeremiah serves as senior pastor of Shadow Mountain Community Church in El Cajon, California. He is the founder and host of Turning Point, a ministry committed to providing Christians with sound Bible teaching relevant to today’s changing times through radio and television, the Internet, live events, and resource materials and books. A bestselling author, Dr. Jeremiah has written more than forty books, including Agents of Babylon, Agents of the Apocalypse, Captured by Grace, Living with Confidence in a Chaotic World, What in the World Is Going On?, The Coming Economic Armageddon, God Loves You: He Always Has—He Always Will, and What Are You Afraid Of?. Dr. Jeremiah’s commitment to teaching the complete Word of God continues to make him a sought-after speaker and writer. His passion for reaching the lost and encouraging believers in their faith is demonstrated through his faithful communication of biblical truths. A dedicated family man, Dr. Jeremiah and his wife, Donna, have four grown children and twelve grandchildren. Connect with Dr. Jeremiah on Facebook (@drdavidjeremiah), Twitter (@davidjeremiah), and on his website (

Table of Contents

Introduction to the Gospel of Luke v

Lesson 1 God with Us (Luke 1:1-2:52) 1

Lesson 2 Baptism and Temptation (Luke 3:1-4:44) 13

Lesson 3 Four Men and a Savior (Luke 5:1-6:49) 25

Lesson 4 People Are Important (Luke 7:1-8:56) 35

Lesson 5 Who Is My Neighbor? (Luke 9:1-10:42) 47

Lesson 6 A Master Class in Prayer (Luke 11:1-12:59) 59

Lesson 7 Count the Cost (Luke 13:1-14:35) 71

Lesson 8 Lost and Found (Luke 15:1-16:31) 83

Lesson 9 Encounters with Jesus (Luke 17:1-18:43) 95

Lesson 10 All Roads Lead to Jerusalem (Luke 19:1-20:47) 107

Lesson 11 Before the Rooster Crows (Luke 21:1-22:71) 119

Lesson 12 Crucifixion and Resurrection (Luke 23:1-24:53) 131

Leader's Guide 145

About Dr. David Jeremiah and Turning Point 150

Stay Connected to Dr. David Jeremiah 152

Customer Reviews