Moscow 1956: The Silenced Spring

Moscow 1956: The Silenced Spring

by Kathleen E. Smith


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Joseph Stalin had been dead for three years when his successor, Nikita Khrushchev, stunned a closed gathering of Communist officials with a litany of his predecessor’s abuses. Meant to clear the way for reform from above, Khrushchev’s “Secret Speech” of February 25, 1956, shattered the myth of Stalin’s infallibility. In a bid to rejuvenate the Party, Khrushchev had his report read out loud to members across the Soviet Union that spring. However, its message sparked popular demands for more information and greater freedom to debate.

Moscow 1956: The Silenced Spring brings this first brief season of thaw into fresh focus. Drawing on newly declassified Russian archives, Kathleen Smith offers a month-by-month reconstruction of events as the official process of de-Stalinization unfolded and political and cultural experimentation flourished. Smith looks at writers, students, scientists, former gulag prisoners, and free-thinkers who took Khrushchev’s promise of liberalization seriously, testing the limits of a more open Soviet system.

But when anti-Stalin sentiment morphed into calls for democratic reform and eventually erupted in dissent within the Soviet bloc—notably in the Hungarian uprising—the Party balked and attacked critics. Yet Khrushchev had irreversibly opened his compatriots’ eyes to the flaws of monopolistic rule. Citizens took the Secret Speech as inspiration and permission to opine on how to restore justice and build a better society, and the new crackdown only reinforced their discontent. The events of 1956 set in motion a cycle of reform and retrenchment that would recur until the Soviet Union’s collapse in 1991.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780674972001
Publisher: Harvard
Publication date: 04/17/2017
Pages: 448
Product dimensions: 6.40(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Kathleen E. Smith is Teaching Professor in the School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University.

Table of Contents

Prologue 1

1 January After the Ice 10

2 February A Sudden Thaw 30

3 March A Flood of Questions 55

4 April Early Spring 82

5 May Fresh Air 109

6 June First Flush of Youth 139

7 July Intellectual Heat 169

8 August By the Sweat of Their Brows 197

9 September Ocean Breezes 227

10 October Storm Clouds 256

11 November Winds from the East 280

12 December The Big Chill 306

Epilogue 334

Afterlives 343

Notes 349

Acknowledgments 421

Index 425

Customer Reviews