Mother-Daughter Murder Night (A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick)

Mother-Daughter Murder Night (A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick)

by Nina Simon
Mother-Daughter Murder Night (A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick)

Mother-Daughter Murder Night (A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick)

by Nina Simon

Hardcover

$30.00 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Did someone say three generations of crime-solving? Perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club and Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone, you’ll love this murder mystery with a cozy core built around a dysfunctionally loveable family.

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - REESE’S BOOK CLUB PICK 

Nothing brings a family together like a murder next door.

“I just loved how intriguing the mystery is but also the dynamics between a grandmother, a mother, and a teenage daughter." —Reese Witherspoon

Think: Gilmore Girls, but with murder.

High-powered businesswoman Lana Rubicon has a lot to be proud of: her keen intelligence, impeccable taste, and the L.A. real estate empire she’s built. But when she finds herself trapped 300 miles north of the city, convalescing in a sleepy coastal town with her adult daughter Beth and teenage granddaughter Jack, Lana is stuck counting otters instead of square footage—and hoping that boredom won’t kill her before the cancer does. 

Then Jack—tiny in stature but fiercely independent—happens upon a dead body while kayaking. She quickly becomes a suspect in the homicide investigation, and the Rubicon women are thrown into chaos. Beth thinks Lana should focus on recovery, but Lana has a better idea. She’ll pull on her wig, find the true murderer, protect her family, and prove she still has power.

With Jack and Beth’s help, Lana uncovers a web of lies, family vendettas, and land disputes lurking beneath the surface of a community populated by folksy conservationists and wealthy ranchers. But as their amateur snooping advances into ever-more dangerous territory, the headstrong Rubicon women must learn to do the one thing they’ve always resisted: depend on each other.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780063315044
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: 09/05/2023
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 4,126
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Nina Simon writes crime fiction about strong women. She is the author of the New York Times-bestseller Mother-Daughter Murder Night, which she wrote for her mother, as a way to entertain, comfort, and connect with her during a major health crisis. This debut novel was a Reese's Book Club pick, a Golden Poppy Award winner, and a "best of 2023" selection for Amazon, Barnes & Noble, CrimeReads, and Library Journal. Before turning to fiction, Nina wore many hats: NASA engineer, slam poet, game designer, museum director, and nonprofit CEO. Her work on community participation in museums, libraries, parks, and theaters has been featured in the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, NPR, and the TEDx stage. Born and raised in Los Angeles, Nina now lives off-the-grid in the Santa Cruz Mountains with her family. More information can be found on her website, ninaksimon.com.

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews