Murder at an Irish Bakery (Irish Village Mystery #9)

Murder at an Irish Bakery (Irish Village Mystery #9)

by Carlene O'Connor
Murder at an Irish Bakery (Irish Village Mystery #9)

Murder at an Irish Bakery (Irish Village Mystery #9)

by Carlene O'Connor

Hardcover

$27.00 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, February 28
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Return to the Irish countryside of the Village Mystery series with a cozy police procedural set around a baking competition that goes horribly wrong. With a contestant dead and a complex list of suspects, the timer is ticking before more contestants get burned … or murdered.

In a book perfect for fans of Sheila Connolly and Donna Leon, the USA Today bestselling author returns readers to County Cork in Ireland’s lush countryside, where locals are simmering with excitement over the reality TV baking contest coming to town —until someone serves up a show-stopping murder that only Garda Siobhan O’Sullivan can solve.

“Distinctive, captivating characters match a gripping plot full of surprises. O’Connor reinforces her place among the top rank of cozy writers.” – Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW


In Kilbane, opinions are plentiful and rarely in alignment. But there’s one thing everyone does agree on—the bakery in the old flour mill, just outside town, is the best in County Cork, well worth the short drive and the long lines. No wonder they’re about to be featured on a reality baking show.

All six contestants in the show are coming to Kilbane to participate, and the town is simmering with excitement. Aside from munching on free samples, the locals—including Siobhan—get a chance to appear in the opening shots. As for the competitors themselves, not all are as sweet as their confections. There are shenanigans on the first day of filming that put everyone on edge, but that’s nothing compared to day two, when the first round ends and the top contestant is found face-down in her signature pie.

The producers decide to continue filming while Siobhan and her husband, Garda Macdara Flannery, sift through the suspects. Was this a case of rivalry turned lethal, or are their other motives hidden in the mix? And can they uncover the truth before another baker is eliminated—permanently . . .

“Plenty of likely prospects and an endless supply of sweet treats brighten the path to the solution.” – Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781496730817
Publisher: Kensington
Publication date: 02/21/2023
Series: Irish Village Mystery Series , #9
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 95,833
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Carlene O’Connor is the USA Today bestselling author of the acclaimed Irish Village Mysteries, the County Kerry Novels, and the Home to Ireland Mysteries. Born into a long line of Irish storytellers, her great-grandmother emigrated from Ireland filled with tales in 1897 and the stories have been flowing ever since. Of all the places she’s wandered across the pond, she fell most in love with a walled town in County Limerick and was inspired to create the town of Kilbane, County Cork, the setting of her Irish Village Mystery series. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America and Sisters in Crime, and currently divides her time between New Mexico and the Emerald Isle. Please visit her online at CarleneOConnor.net.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews