Murder on Lexington Avenue (Gaslight Mystery Series #12)

Murder on Lexington Avenue (Gaslight Mystery Series #12)

by Victoria Thompson
4.4 38

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Use Express Shipping for guaranteed delivery by December 22
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Murder on Lexington Avenue (Gaslight Series #12) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Mr. Edward Higginbotham of the Institution for the Improved Instruction of Deaf Mutes visits businessman and school patron Nehemiah Wooten at the latter's office. He plans to discuss with Wooten the desires of the man's pretty sixteen year old daughter Electra, a student at the school; she wants to marry a New York Institute for the Deaf and Dumb teacher Adam Oldham. Higginbotham finds Wooten dead. Because NYPD Detective Sergeant Frank Malloy has a son who attends the "Lexington School" that Higginbotham runs and the witness asks for him, he is assigned the lead as the brass believes he brings insider information. This proves true as he understands the deep philosophical divide between the rival two schools teaching deaf children. The DS quickly knows the murder weapon is a brass loving cup and learns the deceased is a believer in eugenics as lectured recently by Alexander Graham Bell; as such Wooten opposed two deaf people marrying out of fear they will pass on the hearing flaw to their offspring. However, Malloy makes little progress so when a second homicide in the Wooten family occurs, he hesitantly asks midwife Sarah Brandt, who has helped him on previous Manhattan murder mysteries, to provide him advice. The latest Gaslight Era murder mystery is a terrific entry that uses the background like references to Bell to set the era while also providing insight into the two predominate education theories of teaching deaf students. The whodunit is complex as Malloy works his investigation assisted by Sarah, but has too many suspects from family, business and school to rule out. Readers will appreciate the latest Victoria Thompson's historical investigate tale. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best Series I have read in a long time, this book made up for the disspointment a lot of fans had over Murder in Waverly Place, which was a great Murder Mystery but it lack a bit of interaction between Malloy and Sara. Fans of Malloy and Sara will be very pleased, they are certainly making progress, they are much more relaxed around each other and theres a bit of a change where Malloy needs Sarah to help him and does not seem to be annoyed or scared to have her in the house where the possible culprit lives. Mrs Malloy makes a short but very funny appearance and it was nice to see more of Malloys world as opposed to Sarah's. The author teases us with a bit of Catherine and her origins, I expect the next installment will cover more of it. All in all I was extremely please with this installment and I am waiting anxiously for the next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I happend by chance to stumble upon this series. Now i am hooked. It is a love story within a mystery. A Massie Dobbs set in New York at the turn of the cemtury. But a lot more fun with the setting in NYC. I love how Ms. THOMPSON develops the seconday characters of Mrs. Decker, Mrs. Elsworth, Mrs. Malloy and Maise. With each book she builds upon the other characters and the many ethnic groups found in the city. Wouldnt this be great as a mystery series on PBS?
Sagesplottwister More than 1 year ago
This series is like comfort food. I keep coming back to see what happens next. I am a sucker for a gentle love story neatly tucked into a mystery. Keep writing Victoria.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of the Gaslight series. Victoria Thompson combines love, humor and mystery in a combination that makes you always looking to read more. I love series novels when you get to know the main characters in the book. Mrs. Brandt and Detective Malloy make a superb couple. The time period of New York in the early 1900's is also interesting. There is so much diversity of nationalities and also social classes. All of this without any sex or swear words, another reason I like it and recommend it. You don't find that very often.
stridel More than 1 year ago
Victoria Thompson has never disappointed and this novel is no exception. Always enjoy her work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
darwindog96 More than 1 year ago
Sticks with the ongoing relationship of Sarah and Malloy. Hard not to figure this one out early on or to eork up any sympathy for the supporting characters for this story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lois Allen More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago