Not Meant to Be: Trusting God for the Redemption of Singleness

Not Meant to Be: Trusting God for the Redemption of Singleness

by Joanne Hofmeister


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Still single at 40.

Many single Christian women desiring marriage find themselves dealing with disappointment due to unexpected singleness, especially when they believe God designed them for marriage. How should we view unwanted singleness? Is it God’s plan or His punishment? Is it His gift or our fault? And if we feel disappointed, does that mean we’re breaking the biblical principle to be content with our lives?

These are a few of the questions Joanne Hofmeister seeks to answer in Not Meant to Be, which chronicles her own quest at the age of 40 to reconcile the reality of her unfulfilled desires with the faith-filled expectation for marriage she had for her life. Through the the stories of other single women and insights from biblical examples, she validates the feelings of loss that many women experience and uncovers God’s heart for them in the process.

Joanne’s honesty, vulnerability, and commitment to truly knowing God while sharing her own journey through disappointment leads others to find hope in God’s redemptive nature.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780692072592
Publisher: Joanne Hofmeister
Publication date: 10/06/2018
Pages: 192
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.41(d)

About the Author

Joanne Hofmeister is a writer and poet with a passion to live as a redeemed woman in a broken world. She has published numerous articles about singleness online and holds a BA in communication/writing from Moody Bible Institute and an MA in communication from Southern New Hampshire University. Joanne lives in Franklin, TN with her husband, whom she met after completing this book.

Table of Contents

Introduction: For This We Have Jesus

Part I: Not Meant to Be

Chapter 1: Old Maid or Specially Gifted?

Chapter 2: Victim or Conqueror?

Chapter 3: Choice or Sovereignty?

Chapter 4: Hope or Disappointment?

Part II: Redemption

Chapter 5: Being Rescued From Loss

Chapter 6: Responding to Sovereignty

Chapter 7: Counting Loss as Gain

Chapter 8: Anticipating Life as it Was Meant to Be

Customer Reviews