Once Upon an Apocalypse: Book 3 - Gathering Home

Once Upon an Apocalypse: Book 3 - Gathering Home

by Motes Jeff


View All Available Formats & Editions
Use Standard Shipping. For guaranteed delivery by December 24, use Express or Expedited Shipping.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781946321121
Publisher: Thomas J Motes Jr
Publication date: 08/10/2017
Series: Once Upon an Apocalypse , #3
Pages: 314
Sales rank: 471,742
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.70(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Once Upon an Apocalypse: Book 3 - Gathering Home 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So glad we took the dolphin cruise! Your sister gave me book one and I am hooked. Continued success.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the story and prepper ideas!
Clabe More than 1 year ago
What happens when a disaster occurs that renders the nation incapable of action and exposes the vulnerability of individuals to starvation, violence and the depredation of their fellow human beings? In the series Once Upon an Apocalypse by Jeff Motes, multiple families in southern Alabama find themselves coping with an electromagnetic pulse (EMP) event without warning. A sufficiently strong EMP will destroy solid state circuit boards instantly turning the modern electronics upon which we depend to worthless junk; and the event depicted in the story does exactly that. The series focuses on the interaction of members of several families; particularly the families of Jill Barnes and John Carter as they find themselves suddenly devoid of modern conveniences and transportation, sources of food or fuel, medicine or basics like tooth paste and toilet paper. Circumstances force them to depend upon what they have in hand for their survival. In book 3, Gathering Home, Lizzie is at Amy Wright’s house. Will has been able to learn where the Wrights live and has arrived to take her to reunite with the rest of her family and with Will’s family in Repose. However, Amy’s father, Jimmy Wright, becoming unbalanced by injury, shock at his family’s circumstances and his lack of knowledge and survival skills begins plotting to keep Will and Lizzie with them. He tries to convince Amy and Lynn Wright that Amy should seduce Will stealing his loyalty from Lizzie and so that his survival skills are used to ensure the survival of the Wright family. As Jimmy Wright is faced with a string of challenges, he fails each time; and each time, Will saves the day fueling his resentment and felling of failure. Will he take his resentment out on Will? On Lizzie, or will he threaten his on family with his lack of control? A showdown is coming. Exactly who the participants are is not clear until it happens. Will Jimmy Wright win or lose? Do Will and Lizzie make it back to Repose and see their families again? Only readers who buy the book will know for sure; at least from this review. In many ways, Gathering Home is the most riveting of this series; the characters are vulnerable throughout the book and except for Will, both clueless and virtually helpless. Jimmy’s reaction to events drops them ever deeper into the quick-sand of despair as every decision he makes proves to be the wrong decision. Like the rest of this series, Gathering Home will leave most readers disturbed, a bit shaken and none will walk away untouched.