Penny Dreadful

Penny Dreadful

Paperback

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18

Overview

From the author of Any Which Wall, comes another story of magic and how it can change you. In Penny Dreadful the magic is small, but the transformation is big. Penelope Grey is a lonely, wealthy child in a nothern big city who, by a  twist of fate, becomes Penny: a happy, poor child in the rural south. Rich with unusual and appealing characters, Penny Dreadful asks readers to think about who they really are and what they really want. For fans of Polly Horvath, Lemony Snicket, and Kate diCamillo!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780375861697
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 09/27/2011
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 760,878
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.60(h) x 0.80(d)
Lexile: 740L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

LAUREL SNYDER'S novels, Any Which Wall and Up and Down the Scratchy Mountains, and her first picture book, Inside the Slidy Diner, have delighted readers, both young and old. She wrote Any Which Wall as a tribute to Edward Eager and Edith Nesbit, both of whom have influenced her work. A graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, Laurel and her family now live in Atlanta, Georgia. Visit her online at LaurelSnyder.com.

ABIGAIL HALPIN is an illustrator and graphic designer who likes tea, mixed tapes, typography, and old book stores. Her illustrations appear in the novel Maybe Yes, Maybe No, Maybe Maybe by Susan Patron. Abigail lives in beautiful (but snowy) Wells, Maine.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Penny Dreadful 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book starts off boring then turns interesting out off nowhere!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
3 books u may like if u liked this book: •Any Which Wall •Bigger Than A Breadbox •Breadcrumbs
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
January 4 started this today and is on page 150 i never wanted to put it down
ChristianR on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Penelope at first lives in an enormous house in New York City, but is very bored because she has a tutor so doesn't have friends and she doesn't do much besides read. Although she loves to read, she also wants to do things herself. Her parents are kind, but very busy and they don't like to tell Penelope about any problems the family may have. So only by eavesdropping does she learn that her father has quit his job and the family is running out of money. Then, out of the blue, her mother learns that she has inherited her great-aunt's home in rural Tennesse, and the family decides to move there. Penelope gains a friend or two, changes her name to Penny, and begins to live a much more interesting life. However, the family's money problems grow even more because the house comes with rent-free tenants and a lot of debt. This is a heart-warming story what's really important in life.
prkcs on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When her father suddenly quits his job, the almost-ten-year-old, friendless Penny and her neglectful parents leave their privileged life in the city for a ramshackle property in the eccentric town of Thrush Junction, Tennessee
lawral on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a hard book to summarize because the beginning is so incredibly different from the rest of the book. It all goes together. The difference doesn't cause any jarring shifts for the reader, and circumstances in the opening make the rest of the book make sense, but this is not a book about a little rich girl who moves to the county, as the first couple chapters would have you believe. Yes, Penelope has grown up rich, but finances quickly deteriorate in the Grey household after her father leaves his job. As the whole family figures out how to live without a chef, a housekeeper, or even a steady income, this becomes a book about figuring out what is really important. Houses and furniture can be let go; your family (and your books!) you take with you. Once that family gets to Thrush Junction, however, this becomes a book about finding yourself, making friends, and feeling and helping others to feel welcome. It's about community.But I didn't think any of this while I was reading. While reading Penny Dreadful, this was just a book about Penelope, who wanted to go out and experience life. She needed to become Penny instead, and in Thrush Junction, she finds just the right people to help her do just that.Thrush Junction is populated with a bunch of oddballs, many of whom live at Whippoorwillows with the Greys. Penelope, who has never really had friends before, must come out of her shell, and Luella is the perfect girl to drag her out. As Penelope, now Penny, learns how to have and be a friend, Luella introduces her to the rest of their little town. There's Down-Betty who was in vaudeville, Duncan who might be allergic to EVERYTHING and so is barely allowed to eat anything, Kay who runs the town diner, Jasper who is Luella's other best friend, Twent who can't say his r's (and has two moms!), and a whole bunch of other folks. The whole thing reminded me of Because of Winn-Dixie, but with a buried treasure legend instead of a dog. It has a feel-good feeling throughout that is infectious, even though the Greys money worries are a constant hum in the background. Things can be a bit episodic, but that's because that's how summer is sometimes. It's all about the people that come and go and the fun things that you get to do together for one day.It's great to see so much diversity in the characters. In addition to Twent's two moms, Luella and her family are black, there is a wide range of ages at Whippoorwillows (and not all the old folks are grandparents), non-traditional gender roles within otherwise traditional family units, and a character who is deaf (can't tell you which without a spoiler). And there are no big deals made about any of it. These are all simply people that Penny meets during her adventures in her new town, and it's great to see them represented in literature just because they exist in real life rather than to Teach a Lesson to readers about how Everyone's the Same on the Inside!I should also add that Penny Dreadful is also peppered with drawings by Abigail Halpin. Rather than distracting from the text, as I often think in-text illustrations do in chapter books, they add to it. My ARC only has preliminary sketches, but from those, I can tell that they're going to be awesomely full of life and emotion. My favorite one is of Penny is straggling behind Luella and Jasper on the sidewalk with the most sour look on her face ever, though the drawing of Twent "wahwing" is a close second. :)Book source: ARC picked up at ALA.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good chapter
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was later that day. I had just sat down in french class and a boy walked in. The teacher jumped up "This is Steve he will be joining us and starting tomorrow will be in Mrs.Santiagos homeroom." I couldnt help but stare. He was tall and his hair flopped perfectly his blue eyes made me lost and his smike was soft. I shook my head Steve was cute. I now had two crushes. But when he sat down a kid whispered something in his ear and pointed to me. I sank low in my seat of course. After class i approached him and he smiled. "Hi...uh where from you?" Ahhhh i had just seriously messed up my speech. I was nervous. "You're funny." I smildd he had thouht it was a joke. Maybe i could still recover myself after all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book,i have read it already
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lawral More than 1 year ago
This is a hard book to summarize because the beginning is so incredibly different from the rest of the book. It all goes together. The difference doesn't cause any jarring shifts for the reader, and circumstances in the opening make the rest of the book make sense, but this is not a book about a little rich girl who moves to the county, as the first couple chapters would have you believe. Yes, Penelope has grown up rich, but finances quickly deteriorate in the Grey household after her father leaves his job. As the whole family figures out how to live without a chef, a housekeeper, or even a steady income, this becomes a book about figuring out what is really important. Houses and furniture can be let go; your family (and your books!) you take with you. Once that family gets to Thrush Junction, however, this becomes a book about finding yourself, making friends, and feeling and helping others to feel welcome. It's about community. But I didn't think any of this while I was reading. While reading Penny Dreadful, this was just a book about Penelope, who wanted to go out and experience life. She needed to become Penny instead, and in Thrush Junction, she finds just the right people to help her do just that. Thrush Junction is populated with a bunch of oddballs, many of whom live at Whippoorwillows with the Greys. Penelope, who has never really had friends before, must come out of her shell, and Luella is the perfect girl to drag her out. As Penelope, now Penny, learns how to have and be a friend, Luella introduces her to the rest of their little town. There's Down-Betty who was in vaudeville, Duncan who might be allergic to EVERYTHING and so is barely allowed to eat anything, Kay who runs the town diner, Jasper who is Luella's other best friend, Twent who can't say his r's (and has two moms!), and a whole bunch of other folks. The whole thing reminded me of Because of Winn-Dixie, but with a buried treasure legend instead of a dog. It has a feel-good feeling throughout that is infectious, even though the Greys money worries are a constant hum in the background. Things can be a bit episodic, but that's because that's how summer is sometimes. It's all about the people that come and go and the fun things that you get to do together for one day. It's great to see so much diversity in the characters. In addition to Twent's two moms, Luella and her family are black, there is a wide range of ages at Whippoorwillows (and not all the old folks are grandparents), non-traditional gender roles within otherwise traditional family units, and a character who is deaf (can't tell you which without a spoiler). And there are no big deals made about any of it. These are all simply people that Penny meets during her adventures in her new town, and it's great to see them represented in literature just because they exist in real life rather than to Teach a Lesson to readers about how Everyone's the Same on the Inside! I should also add that Penny Dreadful is also peppered with drawings by Abigail Halpin. Rather than distracting from the text, as I often think in-text illustrations do in chapter books, they add to it. My ARC only has preliminary sketches, but from those, I can tell that they're going to be awesomely full of life and emotion. My favorite one is of Penny is straggling behind Luella and Jasper on the sidewalk with the most sour look on her face ever, though the drawing of Twent "wahwing" is a close second. :) Book source: A
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I AM SICK
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Firepaw makes his nest next to rowanpaws
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi firepaw.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg best book ive ever read, its hard to summarize but its just plain awesome u HAVE to read this!
Cori Steel More than 1 year ago
Well i have nit read it yet but it loojs good