Phantom Limb: A Gripping Psychological Thriller

Phantom Limb: A Gripping Psychological Thriller

by Lucinda Berry

Paperback

$9.99
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

Phantom Limb: A Gripping Psychological Thriller by Lucinda Berry

Emily and Elizabeth spend their childhood locked in a bedroom and terrorized by a mother who drinks too much and disappears for days. The identical twins are rescued by a family determined to be their saviors.

But there's some horrors love can't erase...

Elizabeth wakes in a hospital, strapped to her bed and unable to move or speak. The last thing she remembers is finding Emily's body in their bathroom. Days before, she was falling in love and starting college. Now, she's surrounded by men who talk to themselves and women who pull out their eyebrows.

As she delves deeper into the mystery surrounding Emily's death, she discovers shocking secrets and holes in her memory that force her to remember what she's worked so hard to forget-the beatings, the blood, the special friends. Her life spins out of control at a terrifying speed as she desperately tries to unravel the psychological puzzle of her past before it's too late.

Phantom Limb is a character-driven mystery that begs to be read in a single setting. The shocking and shattering conclusion will make you go back and read it again.

Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors, and The Girl With No Past.

"Dark suspense at its finest"...Thriller Beats

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781541034952
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 12/15/2016
Pages: 260
Sales rank: 675,489
Product dimensions: 5.98(w) x 9.02(h) x 0.59(d)

About the Author

Dr. Lucinda Berry is a trauma psychologist and leading researcher in childhood trauma. She uses her clinical experience to create disturbing psychological thrillers, blurring the lines between fiction and nonfiction. She enjoys taking her readers on a journey through the dark recesses of the human psyche. If she's not chasing her eight-year-old son around, you can find her running the streets of Los Angeles prepping for her next marathon. To be notified of upcoming releases, please visit: https://about.me/Lucindaberry.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Phantom Limb: A Gripping Psychological Thriller 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
booklover- More than 1 year ago
Elizabeth and Emily Rooth are identical twins. They survived their terrible childhood by leaning on each other. The girls spent their days ..and sometimes nights... locked in a bedroom by a mother who might disappear for days. And then 'mom' started bringing home male "friends" who would spend time with the girls. An accidental fire in their apartment led the girls to a family that loved them and adopted them. There are some horrors that can never be forgotten, no matter how hard you try. Bethy and Emily are now living on their own. Bethy has a new found boyfriend but is terrified to introduce him to her sister. Emily is a cutter ... not as often as she used to ... but the depression leads to cutting .. pills... and she rarely leaves her home. Bethy is working as a telemarketer and does everything she can to help Emily. When Elizabeth wakes in a hospital bed, all she remembers is finding Emily's body in the bathroom ... dead. So begins the journey through Elizabeth's mind ... a journey no one should ever have to make. This was a hard book to read. There are issues of rape, child abuse in every way possible, eating disorders, cutting,... the list goes on and on. What makes it so terrible is that I know these things happen all the time in the real world. This is a character-driven book. The author has done a tremendous job in bringing to life these girls, then young women and addressing the issues. The love and interaction between the twins is palpable. There are small twists and turns that were slightly predictable. Then there's the big twist with a roller-coaster stomach-tumbling ending. Many thanks to Lucinda Berry who sent me a digital copy of PHANTOM LIMBS. The opinion expressed here is unbiased and entirely my own.
SheTreadsSoftly More than 1 year ago
Phantom Limb by Lucinda Berry is a very highly recommended psychological thriller, with a focus on the psychological. Elizabeth has overcome a tragic childhood. Elizabeth and her twin sister Emily were abused, neglected children who were rescued and taken away from their nightmare of an excuse for a mother and adopted by Bob and Dalila Rooth. The psychological damage had already been done, however, and the two girls clung to each other. Now a young adult in college, Elizabeth is becoming worn out caring for her still-wounded and damaged sister Emily. Elizabeth has a boyfriend, Thomas, that she'd like to introduce to her sister, but she is unsure that Emily is well enough to handle the news. Emily struggles with the urge to self-injury, along with giving in to her own internal personal suffering and depression. Elizabeth decides to talk to her childhood therapist, Lisa, about introducing Thomas to Emily. Although talking to Lisa is a comfortable experience, something seems a bit amiss in their meeting, but Elizabeth plans to have more sessions with her. She is also determined to have Thomas meet Emily, but Emily reacts badly. When Emily seeks out Thomas and warns him to stay away from Elizabeth, the two sisters have a huge fight and Elizabeth sleeps on the coach. When she wakes up, she finds Emily in the bathroom, with pills and blood... That is all Elizabeth remembers when she wakes up a week later in the hospital and is moved to the psychiatric unit. What happened? This is a gripping, well written thriller that explores the psychology behind what happened to Elizabeth. As a character driven drama, you could almost call it a psychological procedural, as Elizabeth works through what happened and facts are slowly revealed. The actual psychology behind the emerging secrets is a pleasure to see in a work of fiction. There are a couple shocking twists. The first might be guessed by astute readers of psychological dramas. The second twist you won't likely see coming until it is revealed. I enjoyed Phantom Limb a great deal and was initially going to give it my highest possible rating, but then, suddenly, a fact hit my brain and I had to go down at least 1/2 a star. (I actually consulted with someone about my question to confirm that I was right.) I can't discuss openly any of it or I'll ruin the book, and I'm not giving any spoilers. For most readers my one concern won't matter an iota. This is an engrossing thriller and it will hold your rapt attention from beginning to end. Disclosure: My advanced reading copy was courtesy of Heather Harrison at Rise Press.