Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
Power Up: How Smart Women Win in the New Economy

Power Up: How Smart Women Win in the New Economy

Hardcover

$27.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 26

Overview

A silly and spooky new highly illustrated series that’s perfect for fans of Eerie Elementary and Notebooks of Doom, featuring art on every page and fun activities at the end of each book!

Ivan, Malia, and Dante are excited about their ski trip. There’s no chance they’ll stumble onto 13th Street in the mountains, right? WRONG! After being sucked through a portal, the cousins come face-to-face with joke-telling cougars that are more dangerous than they seem. How will the kids get out of trouble this time?

Each story in this hilarious and scary new series from award-winning author David Bowles is designed to set independent readers up for success—with short, fast-paced chapters, art on every page, and progress bars at the end of each chapter!



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781580056915
Publisher: Basic Books
Publication date: 10/31/2017
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 888,804
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Magdalena Yesil is a founder, entrepreneur, and venture capitalist of many of the world's top technology companies, including Salesforce, where she was the first investor and founding board member. Her investing career started at US Venture Partners. She is a founder of Broadway Angels, an angel group of female investors. A technology pioneer, Yesil cofounded three companies dedicated to commercializing Internet access, e-commerce infrastructure, and electronic payments. UUnet, CyberCash, and MarketPay earned her the Entrepreneur of the Year title from Red Herring magazine. Her current company, DriveInformed, uses technology to bring trust and transparency to the auto finance industry.

Table of Contents

Foreword Marc Benioff xi

Introduction: There's a Woman in the Men's Room xv

1 The Power to Flow 1

Audacity, or a Delicious Eff-You Attitude 9

Gratitude Keeps You Flowing 12

When It's Time to Shoot the Rapids 16

Toss Your Life Preserver 19

The Urgency and Fear of True Commitment 21

2 Be the Boss of Your Own Career 25

Be Prepared to Zig and Zag 27

The Case for Going Corporate 33

Intrapreneurship, or How to Move a Mountain 37

The Boss of Your Own Story 41

Earn a Boss's Paycheck 46

3 You Have More Power Than You Think 53

Developing Gravitas 58

Sexual Harassment Is a Crime 63

4 How to Get an a in Attitude and an F in Victim 69

Better a Bitch than a Victim 72

In the Room with Investors 77

Riding Out Business Lows 82

5 People Power 91

Your First Sponsor Is Your Boss 93

Seek Hyper-Local Sponsorship 96

The Place for Mentors 102

The Power of Other Women 105

Build Momentum with the Right Team 109

6 Entering the Men's Room 113

Become an Insider 116

Make Allies in Your Office 120

Join the Men's Club 125

Male-Female Networking Hacks 127

7 Guilt and Other Challenges of Working Parenthood 131

No More Mommy Guilt 136

Shaping Your Career and Your Parenting Together 139

Family Leave and the Co-Parenting Unicorn 147

When Parenthood Makes Entrepreneurs of Employees 152

8 Quitting, Failing, Reentry, and Rebirth 155

Breaks Are Not Blemishes 160

A Blueprint for ReEntry 162

Disaster Recovery 165

The Upside of Disaster 170

Quit or Stick It Out? 172

9 Power up the Organization 175

Guardrails Against Bias 177

Say No to Quotas 182

Take Your Values to Work 184

Epilogue: Starting from Scratch 189

About the Author 230

Customer Reviews