Pub. Date:
Radiohead FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the World's Most Famous Cult Band

Radiohead FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the World's Most Famous Cult Band

by Dan Caffrey


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, October 27


No band in recent history has divided listeners' opinions as much as Radiohead. Are they the Beatles of the twenty-first century, or is their music just pretentious, overly melancholic, and sometimes boring? Musician, pop-culture critic, and playwright Dan Caffrey wasn't always a Radiohead fan, but that all changed one Chicago winter, when he suddenly found their album In Rainbows to be a welcome source of sonic warmth. An extension of Caffrey's deep but often cautious love for the band, Radiohead FAQ presents a fittingly sideways look at what he's dubbed "the world's most famous cult band."

Inside these pages, readers will find the essentials of the Radiohead story-along with deep dives into seldom explored topics, from the humor surrounding the band's music to the numerous hip-hop artists who have sampled their songs. Each chapter is devoted to a band member plus their producer and "sixth member" Nigel Godrich, revealing comprehensive biographical details about each person. The end result is a book custom made for casual Radiohead fans and obsessives alike-filled with little known facts, new ways of looking at their music, and, like any music book worth its salt, maddening opinions.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781617137129
Publisher: Backbeat
Publication date: 03/15/2021
Series: FAQ Series
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Dan Caffrey is a playwright, pop-culture critic, and musician based in Austin, Texas. He has written for Consequence of Sound, The A.V. Club, Pitchfork, and Vox, among other publications. He records music with Maxwell J. Shults under the name Methodist Hospital. Their debut, Giants, was hailed as one of the best albums of 2018 by Dean of American Rock Critics and frequent Radiohead detractor Robert Christgau. 

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments ix

Introduction xi

1 "Take Me on Board Their Beautiful Ship": OK Computer 1

2 "An Empty Space": The OK Computer EPs 19

3 "I Resent Your Voice": Live Transmissions from the OK Computer-Era Tours 26

4 "Ice Age Coming": Kid A 32

5 "I Had Never Seen a Shooting Star Before": Reviewing Pitchfork's Review of Kid A 46

6 "The Wise Man Said I Don't Want to Hear Your Voice": Thorn Yorke 52

7 "Come On and Let It Out": In Rainbows 62

8 "Light Another Candle and Release Me": In Rainbows Disk 2 and In Rainbows: Live from the Basement 73

9 "Music for a Film": Radiohead in Popular Culture 79

10 "I've Got 99 Anthems": Radiohead in Hip-Hop 94

11 "I'll Laugh Until My Head Comes Off": The Comedy of Radiohead 105

12 "Meet the Real World Coming Out of Your Shell": Hail to the Thief 114

13 "A Couple More for Breakfast": Com Lag (2plus2isfive) 129

14 "So I Give In to the Rhythm": Colin Greenwood and Phil Selway 133

15 "Children First": At Abingdon 140

16 "I Feel My Life Could Change": On a Friday's Ascent 149

17 "I'm Going Out for a Little Drive": Dull EP 158

18 "Anyone Can Play Guitar and They Won't Be a Nothing Anymore": Pablo Honey 162

19 "One by One": Itch EP 173

20 "All My Past and Futures": Amnesiac 176

21 "I Just Snapped and Lost Control": Assorted Live Recordings 187

22 "We All Like Stars": Ed O'Brien 193

23 "You Paint Yourself White and Fill Up with Noise": Album Art 198

24 "Out of Control on Videotape": Videography 213

25 "Drawing Bears": Stanley Donwood 233

26 "Bet You Think That's Pretty Clever, Don't You Boy?": The Bends 242

27 "We Are Grateful for Our Iron Lung": My Iron Lung EP 257

28 "Crushed Like a Bug in the Ground": The Bends Tour(s)/Live at the Astoria 261

29 "This Goes Beyond Me, Beyond You": A Moon Shaped Pool 266

30 "Now Self-Employed": Unconventional Distribution 277

31 "I Trust I Can Rely on Your Vote": Nigel Godrich 288

32 "I'm an Animal": The King of Limbs 297

33 "You've Got Ventriloquists": Covers of Radiohead 308

34 "Off the Diving Board": Unreleased Radiohead Songs 322

35 "Motion Picture Soundtrack": Jonny Greenwood 326

36 "Working Out Chaotic Things": Fan Theories 335

Selected Bibliography 343

Index 349

Customer Reviews