Redlined: A Memoir of Race, Change, and Fractured Community in 1960s Chicago

Redlined: A Memoir of Race, Change, and Fractured Community in 1960s Chicago

by Linda Gartz
Redlined: A Memoir of Race, Change, and Fractured Community in 1960s Chicago

Redlined: A Memoir of Race, Change, and Fractured Community in 1960s Chicago

by Linda Gartz


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Set against the backdrop of the Civil Rights Movement, Redlined exposes the racist lending rules that refuse mortgages to anyone in areas with even one black resident. As blacks move deeper into Chicago’s West Side during the 1960s, whites flee by the thousands. But Linda Gartz’s parents, Fred and Lil choose to stay in their integrating neighborhood, overcoming previous prejudices as they meet and form friendships with their African American neighbors. The community sinks into increasing poverty and crime after two race riots destroy its once vibrant business district, but Fred and Lil continue to nurture their three apartment buildings and tenants for the next twenty years in a devastated landscape—even as their own relationship cracks and withers.
After her parents’ deaths, Gartz discovers long-hidden letters, diaries, documents, and photos stashed in the attic of her former home. Determined to learn what forces shattered her parents’ marriage and undermined her community, she searches through the family archives and immerses herself in books on racial change in American neighborhoods. Told through the lens of Gartz’s discoveries of the personal and political, Redlined delivers a riveting story of a community fractured by racial turmoil, an unraveling and conflicted marriage, a daughter’s fight for sexual independence, and an up-close, intimate view of the racial and social upheavals of the 1960s.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781631523205
Publisher: She Writes Press
Publication date: 04/03/2018
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 807,952
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Six-time Emmy-honored Linda Gartz is a documentary producer, author, blogger, educator, and archivist. Her documentaries and TV productions have been featured on ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS, and Investigation Discovery, syndicated nation-wide. Her educational videos include Begin with Love, hosted by Oprah Winfrey and Grandparenting, hosted by Maya Angelou. Gartz’s articles and essays have been published in literary journals, online, and in local and national magazines and newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune. Born in Chicago, she studied at both Northwestern and the University of Munich, and has lived most of her adult life in Evanston, IL. She earned her B.A. and M.A.T. degrees from Northwestern.

Table of Contents

Foreword vii

Prologue: The Attic xxi

Chapter 1 On the Street Where We Live 1

Chapter 2 Nothing from Nothing Is Nothing 5

Chapter 3 If We Won't Be Happy, Who Will? 9

Chapter 4 Madness and Marriage 16

Chapter 5 Resistance and Devotion 21

Chapter 6 Death 27

Chapter 7 Shock 31

Chapter 8 The Best-Laid Plans 36

Chapter 9 Redlined 44

Chapter 10 Civil Rights 48

Chapter l1 Flipped 53

Chapter 12 Blockbusters 60

Chapter 13 A New Start 66

Chapter 14 The Long Goodbyes 74

Chapter 15 Travelin' Man 83

Chapter 16 Wanna Trade Places? 88

Chapter 17 Tenth Anniversary 93

Chapter 18 A Vision of Decline 99

Chapter 19 Barbara 109

Chapter 20 Thief, Robber, Crook 114

Chapter 21 Travels with Dad 118

Chapter 22 The Asylum 122

Chapter 23 Black and White 130

Chapter 24 Brothers and Sisters 137

Chapter 25 Not Unhappy 142

Chapter 26 Saturday Night Burger 146

Chapter 27 The Tether and the Dream 157

Chapter 28 Up in Flames 166

Chapter 29 An Island in a Sea of Destruction 174

Chapter 30 Be Still, I Am Thy God 181

Chapter 31 A New Life 185

Chapter 32 Unraveling 192

Chapter 33 Riots Redux 197

Chapter 34 Convulsions 205

Chapter 35 News from the Front 215

Chapter 36 Sexual Politics 219

Chapter 37 Moving On 230

Chapter 38 Disgraced 235

Chapter 39 A New Roommate 243

Chapter 40 No End in Sight 249

Chapter 4i Home Alone 257

Chapter 42 Mom's World 264

Chapter 43 End of an Era 269

Chapter 44 Dad's World 273

Chapter 45 A Convergence of Change 278

Chapter 46 Not of Our Choosing 287

Chapter 47 Reconciliation 297

Notes 303

Photo Credits 311

Acknowledgments 313

About The Author 317

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews