Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The River by Starlight: A Novel

The River by Starlight: A Novel

by Ellen Notbohm

Paperback

$16.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, July 11

Overview

For fans of Paulette Jiles and Marisa de los Santos

Winner of the Sarton Women’s Book Award and the Western Writers of America Spur Award


Annie Rushton leaves behind an unsettling past to join her brother on his Montana homestead and make a determined fresh start. There, sparks fly when she tangles with Adam Fielding, a visionary businessman-farmer determined to make his own way and answer to no one. Neither is looking for a partner, but they give in to their undeniable chemistry.

Annie and Adam’s marriage brims with astounding success and unanticipated passion, but their dream of having a child eludes them as a mysterious illness of mind and body plagues Annie’s pregnancies. Amidst deepening economic adversity, natural disaster, and the onset of world war, their personal struggles collide with the societal mores of the day. Annie’s shattering periods of black depression and violent outbursts exact a terrible price. The life the Fieldings have forged begins to unravel, and the only path ahead leads to unthinkable loss.

Based on true events, this sweeping novel weaves a century-old story, timeless in its telling of love, heartbreak, healing, and redemption embodied in one woman’s tenacious quest for control over her own destiny in the face of devastating misfortune and social injustice.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781631523359
Publisher: She Writes Press
Publication date: 05/08/2018
Pages: 360
Sales rank: 1,083,594
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

An internationally renowned author, Ellen Notbohm’s work has informed and delighted millions in more than twenty languages.

Writing from her experiences raising children with autism and ADHD, her perennially popular Ten Things Every Child with Autism Wishes You Knew has been an autism bestseller since 2005.  In addition to her four award-winning books on autism, Ellen’s articles, columns and posts on such diverse subjects as history, genealogy, baseball, writing, and community affairs have appeared in major publications and captured audiences on every continent. Her article collection for Ancestry magazine (2005 – 2010) related stories both poignant and uplifting gathered during extensive research for her award-winning novel, The River by Starlight.

A lifelong resident of Oregon, Ellen is an avid genealogist, knitter, reader, beachcomber, and thrift store hound who has never knowingly walked by a used bookstore without going in and dropping coin.

Customer Reviews