Roger Zelazny

Roger Zelazny

by F. Brett Cox
Roger Zelazny

Roger Zelazny

by F. Brett Cox

Hardcover(First Edition)

    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Usually ships within 1 week
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Challenging convention with the SF nonconformist

Roger Zelazny combined poetic prose with fearless literary ambition to become one of the most influential science fiction writers of the 1960s. Yet many critics found his later novels underachieving and his turn to fantasy a disappointment. F. Brett Cox surveys the landscape of Zelazny's creative life and contradictions. Launched by the classic 1963 short story "A Rose for Ecclesiastes," Zelazny soon won the Hugo Award for Best Novel with …And Call Me Conrad and two years later won again for Lord of Light. Cox looks at the author's overnight success and follows Zelazny into a period of continued formal experimentation, the commercial triumph of the Amber sword and sorcery novels, and renewed acclaim for Hugo-winning novellas such as "Home Is the Hangman" and "24 Views of Mt. Fuji, by Hokusai." Throughout, Cox analyzes aspects of Zelazny's art, from his preference for poetically alienated protagonists to the ways his plots reflected his determined individualism.

Clear-eyed and detailed, Roger Zelazny provides an up-to-date reconsideration of an often-misunderstood SF maverick.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780252043765
Publisher: University of Illinois Press
Publication date: 05/11/2021
Series: Modern Masters of Science Fiction , #1
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 224
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

F. Brett Cox is Charles A. Dana Professor of English at Norwich University. He is the author of The End of All Our Exploring: Stories and coeditor of Crossroads: Tales of the Southern Literary Fantastic.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments ix

Introduction 1

Chapter 1 Out of Nowhere: Beginnings-1963 11

Chapter 2 Everybody Loves a Winner: 1964-1968 24

Chapter 3 Do Quit Your Day Job: 1969-1971 61

Chapter 4 A Series of Different Endeavors: 1972-1979 84

Chapter 5 Nothing on Spec but Still Some Joy: 1980-1995 123

Afterword 147

An Interview with Roger Zelazny 153

A Roger Zelazny Bibliography 163

Notes 177

Bibliography of Secondary Sources 193

Index 199

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews