Seven and the Ragged Tiger

Seven and the Ragged Tiger

by Duran DuranDuran Duran


View All Available Formats & Editions


Despite the fact that Seven and the Ragged Tiger couldn't match the unrestrained pop
ock ebullience of 1982's Rio, Duran Duran put three of the album's singles in the Top Ten, taking it to number one in the U.K. Even though "The Reflex" gave the band their first number one hit, there's an overabundance of fancy glitz and dancefloor flamboyancy running through it, unlike "New Moon on Monday"'s straight-ahead appeal or "Union of the Snake"'s mysterious, almost taboo flair. It's apparent that Seven and the Ragged Tiger's content has the band moving ever so slightly into a danceclub arena, with the songs leaning more toward their ability to produce a sexier sound through electronics and instrumentation than through a firm lyrical and musical partnership. Even the unreleased tracks trade Duran Duran's handsome edginess for a shinier sound, heard mainly on "I Take the Dice" and "Cracks in the Pavement." It's here that Lebon and Taylor's personalities begins to get overshadowed by the demand to produce a more synth-snazzy and fashionable style of music. Although they may have turned their songwriting down a notch in order to succumb to the pabulum of synthesized pop, they didn't relinquish every aspect of their genius, and when they do deliver, it's bright, energetic, and effectual. Duran Duran's new direction eventually gave Seven and the Ragged Tiger double platinum status.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2003
Label: Parlophone (Wea)
UPC: 0724358481129
catalogNumber: 848116

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Duran Duran   Primary Artist
Andy Taylor   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
B.J. Nelson   Vocals
Michelle Cobbs   Vocals
Raphael Dejesus   Percussion
Mark Kennedy   Percussion
Simon LeBon   Vocals,Group Member
Bob "Chicago" Nelson   Vocals
Nick Rhodes   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Group Member
John Taylor   Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Andy Hamilton   Saxophone
Roger Taylor   Percussion,Drums,Group Member

Technical Credits

Duran Duran   Arranger,Producer
Andy Taylor   Composer
Phil Thornalley   Engineer
Simon LeBon   Composer
Ian Little   Producer
Nick Rhodes   Composer
Alex Sadkin   Producer
Pete Schwier   Engineer
John Taylor   Composer
Keith Breeden   Sleeve Producer
Malcolm Garrett   Sleeve Producer
Roger Taylor   Composer

Customer Reviews