Seven Year Itch: 1982-1989

Seven Year Itch: 1982-1989

by Platinum Blonde


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, August 27


Fueled by a mingling of new wave and rock and doused with the sounds of keyboards and electronic drums, Toronto's Platinum Blondes scorched '80s radio in Canada, at times neck and neck with Bryan Adams in popularity. Their debut album, 1984's Standing in the Dark, posted four strong singles, looking and sometimes sounding like Duran Duran but distinct enough to gain a modest crowd following in their country. Seven Year Itch is a greatest-hits package that covers all of their singles, and is the only material that's available from Platinum Blonde on CD. The cuts from their first album are the sturdiest, especially both "Standing in the Dark" and "Doesn't Really Matter," each brimming with '80s rock spiritedness, even if their cold war threats are outdated. Alien Shores, from 1985, gave them a number-one hit on the Canadian charts with "Crying Over You," which also put the album in the number-one spot for a week. "Somebody Somewhere" and "Hungry Eyes" had the band sounding less edgy and more polished, caught in limbo during a rapidly changing music scene. The three songs from their last album, the uninspired and flavorless Contact release from 1987, represents a last-ditch effort at maintaining their survival with the band trying to push their formula, only coming off weak and overly thin. Not only is Seven Year Itch the only source of Platinum Blonde that's out there, it's also a worthy summation of their five year existence.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/20/2004
Label: Sbme Import
UPC: 0074642405424
catalogNumber: 424054
Rank: 33005


  1. It Doesn't Really Matter
  2. Holy Water
  3. Automatic Drive
  4. Animal
  5. Not in Love
  6. Sad Sad Rain
  7. Crying Over You
  8. Contact
  9. Chaperone Sally
  10. Somebody, Somewhere
  11. All Fall Down
  12. Lost in Space
  13. Situation Critical
  14. Standing in the Dark
  15. Hungry Eyes
  16. Cinderella Story

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews