Simon Snootle and Other Small Stories

Simon Snootle and Other Small Stories

by Lorin Morgan-Richards

Paperback

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Use Standard Shipping. For guaranteed delivery by December 24, use Express or Expedited Shipping.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780985044749
Publisher: A Raven Above Press
Publication date: 02/16/2016
Pages: 52
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.11(d)

About the Author

Lorin Morgan-Richards (b.1975) is an author, poet and illustrator, known mostly for his children's books. Richards is also the Publisher of Celtic Family Magazine and has served as Executive Director of the Los Angeles St. David's Day Festival.

"Lorin Morgan-Richards charts the paths of weird clouds that pass far overhead and then maps the changes that their rain makes on the lives of people living below."-Dark in the Dark Magazine

"Lorin Morgan-Richards has a unique tone and style all his own, and the stories are told in a fashion that pulls the casual reader in with wonderful fancy and the magical quality of good story telling. The high quality illustrations are rendered in sharp crisp lines and add to the wonderment instilled by these fanciful tales."-Macabre Cadaver Magazine

For more info goto: www.lorinrichards.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Simon Snootle and OTHER small Stories 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
tapestry100 on LibraryThing 26 days ago
I receive an email not too long ago from Lorin Morgan-Richards wondering if I would mind reviewing his book, Simon Snootle and OTHER small stories. I'm leery of reviewing home-published books; I've received some less that stellar books this way in the past, but I thought I'd at least do a little research and looked the book up on Amazon and LibraryThing. After discovering that it has received 5 stars across the board at both of these sites, I thought I'd go ahead and offer to review it.Simon Snootle and OTHER small stories is a collection of seven short stories that introduce us to a variety of characters who all live very bizarre lives. For instance, Simon Snootle himself lives in a cistern with some cats, where he fell as a child and his parents never bothered to pull him out, in fear of what else may come up with him; or Mr. Slowbug, who may or may not have discovered that he is forever more going to be a fashion accessory. The stories are quirky and unusual and the accompanying illustrations fit the mood of the stories perfectly. I honestly think that unless you are a fan of the likes of Edward Gorey or Tim Burton, you probably won't get much out of these stories; but the Gorey and Burton fans will love this book.What makes the volume really shine, however, is the physical book itself; it is handmade! In the author's own words: '...I wanted to make sure I had a personal connection with how each book was created...writing, illustrating, drafting, printing, binding, and pressing each by hand.' To say that Lorin Morgan-Richards made a small work of art out his book is an understatement. The book is printed on acid-free paper and bound in a faux-leather cover, and the finished product is a loverly little edition that has a slight quirkiness and imperfection to itself that goes right along with the characters that are held inside it's pages; honestly, I could easily see this sitting on any bookshelf in any store, it is so well presented.Fans of Gorey and Burton and the like, don't hesitate to pick a copy up for yourself, as I don't think you will be disappointed. Morgan-Richards has created a host of fun characters and has given them a place to live in a beautiful, homemade book. The stories are quick and it won't take you much time at all to finish reading the book, but the overall package and the effort that Morgan-Richards put into his book from start to finish will certainly impress you as it did me.
AnnabellePepper1 More than 1 year ago
This book is completely handmade and beautifully packaged, with offbeat cute stories! A must have for people with dark humor taste!