Sophocles Plays 2: Ajax; Women of Trachis; Electra; Philoctetes

Sophocles Plays 2: Ajax; Women of Trachis; Electra; Philoctetes


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21


Sophocles' greatest plays reissued in the new Classical Greek Dramatists series. Introduced by series editor J Michael Walton

Includes the surviving complete plays: Ajax which plots the downfall of Odysseus's greatest Trojan enemy - who slaughters a whole herd of cattle before killing himself; Women of Trachis in which the seemingly docile Deianira prepares a lethal homecoming for her womanising husband Heracles; in Electra the son and daughter of the ill-starred Agamemnon plan their revenge on their usurping stepfather and mother and finally Philoctetes in which Sophocles brilliantly explores the themes of pain, love and the betrayal of trust.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780413628800
Publisher: Bloomsbury Academic
Publication date: 07/13/2009
Series: Classical Dramatists
Pages: 226
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range: 16 - 18 Years

About the Author

Sophocles (est. 497-406 B.C.E.) was a celebrated Greek playwright who won more drama competitions than Aeschylus and Euripides combined. He is known for his advancements in character development and for adding a third character to his plays, relying less on the chorus. Though he wrote over 120 plays, only seven remain today, the most famous of which are Oedipus Rex and Antigone.

Table of Contents

Ajax; Women of Trachis; Electra; Philoctetes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews