Sweet Thunder: Music and Libretti in 1960s Italy

Sweet Thunder: Music and Libretti in 1960s Italy

by Vivienne Suvini-Hand

NOOK Book(eBook)

$68.49 $77.95 Save 12% Current price is $68.49, Original price is $77.95. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


"Italian music of the 1960s is one of the most unjustly neglected areas in the arena of twentieth-century classical music. This volume pays tribute to the astounding complexity of the music and libretti of five vocal compositions by leading experimental composers of the decade: Luigi Dallapiccola, Bruno Maderna, Luciano Berio, Giacomo Manzoni, and Armando Gentilucci. It highlights how the 'difficult' and unconventional methods of composition employed by these artists - dodecaphony, total serialism, Webernian minimalist techniques, aleatory and electronic music - displayed a refusal to compete with the market-place values of Italy's new capitalist society. At the same time, the libretti's collage arrangement of a plethora of European and Oriental literary sources dating from the sixteenth century BC onwards, reflected the contemporary Neo-avant-garde rejection of conventional literary practice, and their preference for 'organised disorder', in Umberto Eco's phrase."

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781351196215
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
Publication date: 12/02/2017
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 304
File size: 6 MB

About the Author

Vivienne Suvini-Hand is Reader in Italian at Royal Holloway, University of London.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1. Twentieth-Century Italian Music in the Context of European and American Experimentalism from Verismo to the Seventies 2. Luigi Dallapiccola's Ulisse (1960–68) 3. Luciano Berio's Laborintus II (1965) 4. Armando Gentilucci's Strofe di Ungaretti (1967) 5. Giacomo Manzoni's Parole da Beckett (1970) 6. Bruno Maderna's Ausstrahlung (1971) 7. Conclusion

Customer Reviews