Tea and Cake with Demons: A Buddhist Guide to Feeling Worthy

Tea and Cake with Demons: A Buddhist Guide to Feeling Worthy

by Adreanna Limbach
Tea and Cake with Demons: A Buddhist Guide to Feeling Worthy

Tea and Cake with Demons: A Buddhist Guide to Feeling Worthy

by Adreanna Limbach


$15.95  $17.95 Save 11% Current price is $15.95, Original price is $17.95. You Save 11%.
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


In Tea and Cake with Demons, Adreanna Limbach brings secular Buddhist teachings to a new generation by addressing one of the most pressing concerns we all face—authentic self-worth. "Our ambition, goal-setting, self-helping, and even our spiritual practices are often driven by the underlying sense that we just aren’t enough," writes Limbach. "But what if we could accept ourselves just as we are? Open our hearts and invite our demons to tea?"
These demons, Limbach teaches, manifest for many of us as a chronic sense of "not-enoughness," inherited through cultural stories that send us conflicting messages: we’re supposed to feel happy and confident, but we’re also never quite worthy of those feelings. Using the Four Noble Truths as a guide, Limbach shares meditation practices, personal anecdotes, and traditional Buddhist tales that help us learn to befriend ourselves—even the more unsavory bits—so we can realize our full potential. A popular mindfulness teacher and emerging voice in modern Buddhism, Limbach brings a playful, fresh, and at times joyfully irreverent tone to walking the Eightfold Path.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781683641223
Publisher: Sounds True, Incorporated
Publication date: 07/09/2019
Pages: 208
Sales rank: 266,553
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Adreanna Limbach
Adreanna Limbach is a personal coach and a lead meditation instructor at MNDFL, NYC’s premier drop-in meditation studio. Her teachings have been featured in the New York Times, Women’s Health, and Refinery29. She lives in New York City. For more, visit adreannalimbach.com.

Table of Contents

Foreword Susan Piver ix

Introduction 1

Part 1 Waking Up to Worthiness

Chapter 1 Acorns Know How to Oak 9

Chapter 2 Meeting Our Demons 19

Chapter 3 Basic Botany 27

Chapter 4 Touching the Earth 33

Chapter 5 How to Hold Your Seat 39

Part 2 The Four Noble Truths

Chapter 6 Restless Everything Syndrome 49

The First Noble Truth

Chapter 7 Welcome to the Charnel Grounds 61

The Second Noble Truth

Chapter 8 Pure Potential and the Cessation of Suffering 81

The Third Noble Truth

Chapter 9 Surrendering the Plan, Walking the Path 91

The Fourth Noble Truth

Part 3 The Eightfold Path

Chapter 10 What's the Story, Morning Glory? 99

Beneficial View

Chapter 11 Motivation Made Lucid 113

Beneficial Intention

Chapter 12 Mind Meets World 119

Beneficial Communication

Chapter 13 Karma Made Me Do It 135

Beneficial Action

Chapter 14 Work, Money, Purpose 143

Beneficial Livelihood

Chapter 15 Accounting for Our Energy 153

Beneficial Effort

Chapter 16 The Spice That Flavors All Dishes 163

Beneficial Mindfidness

Chapter 17 Insight through Repetition 173

Beneficial Concentration

Conclusion 183

Acknowledgments 187

Notes 189

About the Author 195

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews